Old Dura Ace hub compatibility?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
wilwil
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:47 pm

by wilwil

Is it possible to buy a new Shimano 11sp freehub body and fit it to a old 10 speed FH7900 Dura ace hub?

mattr
Posts: 4665
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: The Grim North.

by mattr

Nope, i spent a while looking into this and couldn't find anything that didn't require bodging. So my 7900 hubs will be remaining on a 9 speed bike. I bought new 9000 hubs for the 11 speed bike.

by Weenie


User avatar
ultimobici
in the industry
Posts: 3284
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

by ultimobici

Only way is to use an Edco cassette.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

MoreRideTime
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:09 pm
Location: Canada

by MoreRideTime

Or you can use the 11-34 Shimano road cassette. That one is designed to fit onto 8/9/10 speed freehubs.

User avatar
kman
Posts: 1118
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 10:51 am
Location: Sydney, Australia

by kman

Or you can run 10 of 11 cogs from an 11s cassette. Yes, you lose a gear but at least it can keep it in use.
You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline. It helps if you have some kind of a football team, or some nuclear weapons, but at the very least you need a beer.
-- Frank Zappa

jorisee01
Posts: 313
Joined: Mon May 04, 2015 8:22 pm

by jorisee01

Or you can modify the existing hub to fit 11 speed. How to can be found on this forum.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post