Madone VR-CF handlebar and TT clip-ons

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

robeambro

by robeambro

Hi all,

I am considering the purchase of a new bike to also do the odd TT or triathlon.

I would have two questions: is there any currently available Bontrager (or any other) clip-on bars that would fit the VR-CF handlebar currently fitted on the Madone SLR?
If no, are there other non-PITA solutions?

And in general, for a completely clueless person, is it difficult to travel with a completely integrated bar + stem combo such as the SLR? I have no experience of these, so I don't know if they would make the bike quite tricky to get ready to fit in the travel bag.

MayhemSWE

by MayhemSWE

robeambro wrote:
Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:08 pm
And in general, for a completely clueless person, is it difficult to travel with a completely integrated bar + stem combo such as the SLR? I have no experience of these, so I don't know if they would make the bike quite tricky to get ready to fit in the travel bag.
That'd largely depend on the type of bag you have. I use a Scicon AeroComfort bag which only really requires removal of the wheels.

https://eu.sciconbags.com/products/scic ... travel-bag

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

robeambro

by robeambro

MayhemSWE wrote:
Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:27 pm
robeambro wrote:
Mon Sep 17, 2018 12:08 pm
That'd largely depend on the type of bag you have. I use a Scicon AeroComfort bag which only really requires removal of the wheels.

https://eu.sciconbags.com/products/scic ... travel-bag
Thanks - jeez, that's an expensive bag.

Meanwhile, I can answer the other question by myself, thanks to quicker-than-expected customer service from Trek: it is not possible to fit any clip-on bars to the SLR. Oh well, I guess no TT on the Madone..

izza

by izza

Not yet.