Page 1 of 1

What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:45 pm
by wilwil
It seems difficult to buy Sram cables in the UK do people use Shimano? I think the gear inners are a different size by 0.1mm.

What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:45 pm
by Weenie

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:53 pm
by jobvisser
Shimano cables work just fine for me

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:17 pm
by wheelbuilder
Sram specific cables feed through the shifter much easier. If you can find them, use them. Jagwire makes 1.1mm cables.

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:35 pm
by Bluechip
While I have used 1.2mm on Sram and it worked fine, the correct 1.1 cables are much easier to install.

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 5:13 pm
by motorthings
yokozuna. best mod to the system. been using them for years.

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 6:08 pm
by sungod
wilwil wrote:
Thu Aug 30, 2018 2:45 pm
It seems difficult to buy Sram cables in the UK do people use Shimano? I think the gear inners are a different size by 0.1mm.
a quick search with google finds multiple uk suppliers, even halfords do them!

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:36 pm
by NiFTY
They all work. 1.1mm are easiest to install. I use kcnc ti on the brakes without issues for thousands of ks but on the shift i have had both sides fail inside the shifter (so not over clamping).

Re: What cables do I use for Sram Red?

Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2018 11:36 pm
by Weenie