Different Groupset

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

sourncream

by sourncream

Im a beginner and i don't know what to do, I have shimano 105 5800 fd , rd , and shifters. I know that ultegra 6800 and dura ace 9100 will match my 105 , i am thinking of mixing my parts. Im thinking of going dura ace 9100 FD then 6800 ultegra for my rear derailleur or should i just save money and buy dura ace rear derailleur ? is there any pros and cons of mixing it ? or big diff between rear derailleur ? (ultegra+dura)

TL;DR (i have shimano 105 5800)
DURA-ACE 9100 FD + ULTEGRA 6800 RD
or
save money for
DURA ACE 9100 FD + DURA ACE 9100 RD

This is my bike specs

https://imgur.com/a/BXPo6EI
https://imgur.com/a/2yV9yRj

campagowlo

by campagowlo

The only part that i would upgrade is the Chainset as you will lose a stack of weight. The rest of the 105 groupset is solid, super functional and looks as good as the rest.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

coriordan

by coriordan

Rear mech makes as near as no difference. Front mech maybe. All the parts are mix and match compatible.

105 is great, just use that until it wears out. If you are a beginner there's a whole world out there to explore by riding your bike rather than pondering upgrades to mechs.

sourncream

by sourncream

coriordan wrote:
Fri Aug 24, 2018 12:19 pm
Rear mech makes as near as no difference. Front mech maybe. All the parts are mix and match compatible.

105 is great, just use that until it wears out. If you are a beginner there's a whole world out there to explore by riding your bike rather than pondering upgrades to mechs.