Giant Power Pro

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
hiro11
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 2:10 am

by hiro11

warp wrote:
Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:50 am
Same issue here. Doesn't bother me much as the batteries are rechargeable and they last for the duration of my typical ride. I wish it was better, though as there is no comparison with my Di2
Agreed, it's more annoying than anything. It charges in an hour or so, something I need to do every couple of weeks.
I haven't had issues with my S10 trying to update the firmware or running the Giant app.
Now that is interesting. The new build of the app is definitely more stable (in that it doesn't automatically force-quit upon open), but the firmware update process is definitely unreliable for me.

While riding, and corroborated from the data, the cadence was jumping up and down every second. I don't change cadence that quickly. As the Power Pro uses cadence into the calculation for power, the data came very jumpy. The power plot from the kickr showed a steady power for the duration of the interval, while on the Power Pro it looked like if I was riding outside. At about 100w, the Power Pro would read within 5w but at 200W it would be as far off as 20w.

Now, the average power came within 10w (out of 150w is still significant) from that of the Kickr and I could live with that, but being 20% of while busting my lungs is dodgy.

I need to do more testing and see how it goes. It was reading pretty good to me, but after a firmware update, the cadence data jumps up and down and I'm having issues with Power. However, I have not made a calibration lately of the Power Pro or a Spin Down on the Kickr... so I still need to find out more.
Good information. I'm personally more concerned about consistency and in that regard the Power Pro seems pretty good. I've ridden the bike in all kinds of conditions and I have obtained results that generally make sense.

by Weenie


bas
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:58 am

by bas

I've compared data from the power pro that came on my Propel to an Infocrank, current model SRM and a calibrated Computrainer.

The Power Pro is way out- like if I'm doing 350W real the power pro will be reading 370-380W. SRM, Infocrank and Computrainer are all within a few watts of each other.

Frustrating as I put it on my winter training bike but the data is basically rubbish.

Anyone else found this?

scapie
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 5:19 am

by scapie

bas wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:59 am
The Power Pro is way out- like if I'm doing 350W real the power pro will be reading 370-380W...
all i see here is positives lol..

User avatar
gplama
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:21 am
Contact:

by gplama

bas wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:59 am
I've compared data from the power pro that came on my Propel to an Infocrank, current model SRM and a calibrated Computrainer.

The Power Pro is way out- like if I'm doing 350W real the power pro will be reading 370-380W. SRM, Infocrank and Computrainer are all within a few watts of each other.

Frustrating as I put it on my winter training bike but the data is basically rubbish.

Anyone else found this?
Yes.

The Power Pro is an outlier though when it comes to Shimano cranks with gauges slapped on and sold as power meters. It reads high on the right. The cadence reporting also needs work. All detailed over on my YouTube.

bas
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:58 am

by bas

scapie wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:24 am
bas wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:59 am
The Power Pro is way out- like if I'm doing 350W real the power pro will be reading 370-380W...
all i see here is positives lol..
Ha ha i know. I thought I was coming into some huge form until my coach demanded I come into his studio and calibrate the crank against his Computrainer...

bas
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:58 am

by bas

gplama wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 7:50 am
bas wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:59 am
I've compared data from the power pro that came on my Propel to an Infocrank, current model SRM and a calibrated Computrainer.

The Power Pro is way out- like if I'm doing 350W real the power pro will be reading 370-380W. SRM, Infocrank and Computrainer are all within a few watts of each other.

Frustrating as I put it on my winter training bike but the data is basically rubbish.

Anyone else found this?
Yes.

The Power Pro is an outlier though when it comes to Shimano cranks with gauges slapped on and sold as power meters. It reads high on the right. The cadence reporting also needs work. All detailed over on my YouTube.
Got a link? Any way to fix?

User avatar
gplama
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:21 am
Contact:

by gplama

bas wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 8:04 am
Got a link? Any way to fix?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-2o7DY4zVc

It's 18mins. Jump to around 15mins if you want the summary.

Is there a fix? That's up to Giant to see what they can squeeze from the Shimano crankset they're using as a base. More on this soon.

warp
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 3:59 am

by warp

bas wrote:
Tue Jun 18, 2019 6:59 am
I've compared data from the power pro that came on my Propel to an Infocrank, current model SRM and a calibrated Computrainer.

The Power Pro is way out- like if I'm doing 350W real the power pro will be reading 370-380W. SRM, Infocrank and Computrainer are all within a few watts of each other.

Frustrating as I put it on my winter training bike but the data is basically rubbish.

Anyone else found this?
In my case it was reading UNDER, depending on cadence it was 5w-10w or 20w-30w which makes me think it's related to cadence measurement (as other accelerometer based power meters) but again, I need more testing.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post