new helmet for newish cyclist

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

eforce123

by eforce123

Hi everyone,

I have been riding for almost 6 months now and it is time to upgrade my Walmart skateboard helmet to a cycling one. I did upgrade the bike to a Cannondale hi mod with dura ace 9000 a few months ago. (Love it). The shop in Costa Mesa has been extremely helpful and they recommended
Giro Synthe
bontrager velocis
giant rev

I am not one to focus on price if another product is actually better. I know aero is important so I wanted to focus on that and weight.

*if one offers the better overall head protection I am going with that helmet. I have had many concussions from Motorcross and need to protect my head as best I can. I mean it is not about if I crash, it is about when and how hard.

RussellS

by RussellS

I am pretty sure all helmets must meet a minimum safety level. Withstand so much impact, or something like that. So all helmets sold are safe. I'm sure some helmets are safer than others. But not sure its worth pursuing that path. Wearing a motorcycle helmet might be safest of all. So you should do that if maximum safety is concerned. Lightweight is better than heavyweight. Your neck has to hold the helmet up. But a few grams makes no difference. Aero, style, whatever. No comment. Most important is to find a helmet that fits your head. Helmets have different shapes. The fitting system inside adjusts to fit different head shapes differently. Bell helmets are shaped to fit my head perfectly. So I only buy Bell helmets. And I am happy with my helmet. So try to sample helmets in the store or wherever, and get one that fits your head shape. This is the most important thing of all.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

lostrainbow

by lostrainbow