One thing I dislike with disc brakes

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
joejack951
Posts: 569
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Wilmington, DE

by joejack951

JScycle wrote: ↑
Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:31 am
LeMomo wrote: ↑
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:02 pm
Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centrelock rotors!
I can't remember where but I saw some centrelock microspacers
November Cycles.

I posted the following in another thread on the same topic:

Diameter over the centerlock splines is 35.5mm and the rotor to hub mating surface is right around 40mm on my Icetech rotors. If you can get it over the splines, a 40mm OD by 34mm ID shim would stay nice and concentric based on my hubs' dimensions

Since you are in the US, check out www.mcmaster.com, they sell a 45mm OD x 35mm ID shim which ought to work. They have 0.1mm to 1mm thick options.

jlok
Posts: 1020
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am

by jlok

I filed the 6-bolt to centerlock adaptor a bit to fit. Maybe it works with centerlock rotor as well.
Litespeed T1sl Disc / BMC TM02 < Giant Propel Advanced SL Disc 1 < Propel Adv < TCR Adv SL Disc < KTM Revelator Sky < CAAD 12 Disc < Domane S Disc < Alize < CAAD 10

by Weenie


SilentDrone
Posts: 191
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:55 pm

by SilentDrone

kdawg wrote:....I find if I remove my wheel to put it in the car or something I have to fiddle about to get rid of some minor rub.
This! But I can’t for the life of me understand why this is the case. It doesn’t happen when I remove the skew to load my mtb with xtr brakes into my car. But my dura ace 9120 it seems to move ever so slightly. Weird.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

kafreeman
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 8:46 pm

by kafreeman

joejack951 wrote:
November Cycles.

I posted the following in another thread on the same topic:

Diameter over the centerlock splines is 35.5mm and the rotor to hub mating surface is right around 40mm on my Icetech rotors. If you can get it over the splines, a 40mm OD by 34mm ID shim would stay nice and concentric based on my hubs' dimensions

Since you are in the US, check out www.mcmaster.com, they sell a 45mm OD x 35mm ID shim which ought to work. They have 0.1mm to 1mm thick options.
I have a set of 2014 Reynolds Assaults I got at firesale price last year. I had to hit the inside of the shim from McMaster with a dremel to get them over the centerlock splines.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk



NickJHP
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:22 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

by NickJHP

LeMomo wrote: ↑
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:02 pm
Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centrelock rotors!
Use a centrelock to six bolt adapter and a six bolt rotor. You can then use shims to get both rotors at exactly the same position. Wheelsmfg sell 0.2mm rotor shims: https://wheelsmfg.com/products/shims-re ... shims.html.

JScycle
Posts: 243
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:41 pm

by JScycle

NickJHP wrote: ↑
Tue Jul 31, 2018 6:23 am
LeMomo wrote: ↑
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:02 pm
Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centrelock rotors!
Use a centrelock to six bolt adapter and a six bolt rotor. You can then use shims to get both rotors at exactly the same position. Wheelsmfg sell 0.2mm rotor shims: https://wheelsmfg.com/products/shims-re ... shims.html.
I disagree. I think it's best to shop around for some centrelock shims.
They are light than an adapter anyway and this is WW

GlacialPace
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:37 am

by GlacialPace

Another possible problem is worn discs that are thinner, this can cause issues with multiple wheelsets. Not sure about road discs but Shimano MTB ice tech rotors wear out pretty fast (can be done in a season if you ride steep stuff a lot) I imagine road discs are simillar though maybe don't get the same level of abuse so may last a bit longer.

RichTheRoadie
Tinker, Taylor, Tart
Posts: 2073
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2008 8:00 pm
Location: Sydney, Aus.

by RichTheRoadie

SilentDrone wrote: ↑
Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:46 am
kdawg wrote:....I find if I remove my wheel to put it in the car or something I have to fiddle about to get rid of some minor rub.
This! But I can’t for the life of me understand why this is the case. It doesn’t happen when I remove the skew to load my mtb with xtr brakes into my car. But my dura ace 9120 it seems to move ever so slightly. Weird.
Tightness of the thru-axle would be my guess - minor changes make a big difference.

Grab your TA and tighten or loosen it by a fraction of a turn - I bet you get rubbing?

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 3796
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

Not just thru-axle tightness...wheels can get cocked with TAs believe it or not

RyanH
Moderator
Posts: 2565
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:01 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

by RyanH

Yeah, as mentioned, consistently torquing the thru axle to the same spec helps alleviate the issue. It doesn't have to be exact but I noticed if I don't torque it down enough it will rub.

User avatar
LeDuke
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Front Range, CO

by LeDuke

RyanH wrote:Yeah, as mentioned, consistently torquing the thru axle to the same spec helps alleviate the issue. It doesn't have to be exact but I noticed if I don't torque it down enough it will rub.
A small dot of paint or a slight file mark on the TA help. As in, dot at 6 o’clock = properly tightened.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

spdntrxi
Posts: 2877
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

LeDuke wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:55 pm
RyanH wrote:Yeah, as mentioned, consistently torquing the thru axle to the same spec helps alleviate the issue. It doesn't have to be exact but I noticed if I don't torque it down enough it will rub.
A small dot of paint or a slight file mark on the TA help. As in, dot at 6 o’clock = properly tightened.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
like that ideal.. will use it

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 3211
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

LeDuke wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:55 pm
RyanH wrote:Yeah, as mentioned, consistently torquing the thru axle to the same spec helps alleviate the issue. It doesn't have to be exact but I noticed if I don't torque it down enough it will rub.
A small dot of paint or a slight file mark on the TA help. As in, dot at 6 o’clock = properly tightened.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Great tip! :thumbup: Will do it on my bikes!

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 3211
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

BTW how do you torque the rear TA to the correct N.m value? (mine has a lever attached and I can't use a torque ratchet)

User avatar
LeDuke
Posts: 1519
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Front Range, CO

by LeDuke

TonyM wrote:BTW how do you torque the rear TA to the correct N.m value? (mine has a lever attached and I can't use a torque ratchet)
Not sure. I use bolt-on TAs.

Half the weight of most lever operated TAs.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post