One thing I dislike with disc brakes

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
ODC
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:40 am

by ODC

I have an Tarmac sl6 with disk brakes (Dura Ace 9170).
There I already had the Shimano C40 disc wheels from my BMC SLR01 disc my shop installed these for me.
Now i bought a pair of Rovals clx50 at my shop without taking my bike with me. Installed the wheels on my bike and yes brake rub.
Is there always a minor adjustment to make to the brakes when changing wheelsets when not using the same hub?
Some tips to do it myself?

rheosibal
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:26 pm
Location: LA

by rheosibal

Typically yes, minor adjustments are necessary. Were any of the old parts re-used? Or are you using new pads/rotors.
Instagram: joserheo

|| Mosaic RT-1 || Cannondale Evo || Cannondale CAAD10 ||

by Weenie


ODC
Posts: 174
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:40 am

by ODC

rheosibal wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:14 pm
Typically yes, minor adjustments are necessary. Were any of the old parts re-used? Or are you using new pads/rotors.
Using my old pads but new rotors on the new wheels.
Is it also a good idea to change to new pads?

User avatar
kdawg
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:10 pm

by kdawg

Leonard Zinn did an article a few years ago about swapping wheels for cyclocross and you can space the rotors with washers to get them all the same.

I guess the conclusion from that is they are all usually differently spaced.

I find if I remove my wheel to put it in the car or something I have to fiddle about to get rid of some minor rub.
I'm left handed, if that matters.

CarlosFerreiro
Posts: 340
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:41 pm
Location: Shetland, Scotland

by CarlosFerreiro

I've got 3 pairs of wheels matching. 2 pairs were close enough, one pair needed 3x0.2mm Syntace shims

LeMomo
Posts: 55
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:28 pm

by LeMomo

Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centrelock rotors!

dcorn
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2017 4:21 pm
Location: NoVA

by dcorn

I have two sets of wheels for cyclocross and don't get any rub when switching. They do use the same centerlock hub. No noise, no problems. I would think that all manufacturers would have the hub width and rotor mount in the exact same spot, or at least within one or two thousandths.

How often do you change disc wheels on a road bike anyway?

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 3270
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

ODC wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:11 pm
I have an Tarmac sl6 with disk brakes (Dura Ace 9170).
There I already had the Shimano C40 disc wheels from my BMC SLR01 disc my shop installed these for me.
Now i bought a pair of Rovals clx50 at my shop without taking my bike with me. Installed the wheels on my bike and yes brake rub.
Is there always a minor adjustment to make to the brakes when changing wheelsets when not using the same hub?
Some tips to do it myself?

The same applies also for a switch of rim brakes wheels as you sometimes have to realign the brake pads (and also sometimes switch the pads from aluminum to carbon or carbon Campy to Carbon Lightweight).

The best is that you learn how to do it indeed.

spdntrxi
Posts: 3264
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

dcorn wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:05 pm
I have two sets of wheels for cyclocross and don't get any rub when switching. They do use the same centerlock hub. No noise, no problems. I would think that all manufacturers would have the hub width and rotor mount in the exact same spot, or at least within one or two thousandths.

How often do you change disc wheels on a road bike anyway?
I have 4 sets rim brake wheelsets for Bike #1.. so if I get road disc I forsee atleast 2/3 wheelsets depending on conditions.

dvq
Posts: 157
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 1:36 pm

by dvq

TonyM wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:10 pm
ODC wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:11 pm
I have an Tarmac sl6 with disk brakes (Dura Ace 9170).
There I already had the Shimano C40 disc wheels from my BMC SLR01 disc my shop installed these for me.
Now i bought a pair of Rovals clx50 at my shop without taking my bike with me. Installed the wheels on my bike and yes brake rub.
Is there always a minor adjustment to make to the brakes when changing wheelsets when not using the same hub?
Some tips to do it myself?

The same applies also for a switch of rim brakes wheels as you sometimes have to realign the brake pads (and also sometimes switch the pads from aluminum to carbon or carbon Campy to Carbon Lightweight).

The best is that you learn how to do it indeed.
Same, I've never owned two sets of rim brake wheelsets that were perfectly dished exactly the same nor had the exact derailleur fine tuning needed. This is no different with disc. Adjust all your wheelsets to match or deal with adjusting everytime you switch.

ooo
Posts: 830
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

ODC, do they have the same rotor model?

My Shimano, Formula, Novatec centerlock hubs have the same rotor mount spacing,

centerlock hub + mtb centerlock rotor with big spider - same spacing #1
centerlock hub + mtb centerlock rotor without big spider - same spacing #2 (not equal to #1)
shimano 6-bolt hub + shimano 6-bolt rotor without big spider - same spacing as #2
centerlock hub + road centerlock rotor - no info about spacing

to fix spacing you can use shims. 6-bolts shims are cheap,
Centerlock specific shims ID 35.6 OD 38.9: youtube.com/watch?v=c4N58WYUWRQ
Also, some non specific catalog shims can be found in size 45mm OD 35mm ID
'

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2799
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

LeMomo wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:02 pm
Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centerlock rotors!
Yes it does, it is just not as obvious where to source rotor shims for centerlock hubs. There was the 'Disc Frame / Multiple Wheelsets - Equalizing Rotor Spacing On All Wheels' thread not to long ago where the owner of November Cycles posted about offering shims for centerlock hubs but there was some backlash from non-US members balked at the shipping prices.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

User avatar
LeDuke
Posts: 1547
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Front Range, CO

by LeDuke

LeMomo wrote:Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centrelock rotors!
False.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

clm2206
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 6:56 pm

by clm2206

Use Campagnolo wheels
dvq wrote:
TonyM wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:10 pm
ODC wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:11 pm
I have an Tarmac sl6 with disk brakes (Dura Ace 9170).
There I already had the Shimano C40 disc wheels from my BMC SLR01 disc my shop installed these for me.
Now i bought a pair of Rovals clx50 at my shop without taking my bike with me. Installed the wheels on my bike and yes brake rub.
Is there always a minor adjustment to make to the brakes when changing wheelsets when not using the same hub?
Some tips to do it myself?

The same applies also for a switch of rim brakes wheels as you sometimes have to realign the brake pads (and also sometimes switch the pads from aluminum to carbon or carbon Campy to Carbon Lightweight).

The best is that you learn how to do it indeed.
Same, I've never owned two sets of rim brake wheelsets that were perfectly dished exactly the same nor had the exact derailleur fine tuning needed. This is no different with disc. Adjust all your wheelsets to match or deal with adjusting everytime you switch.
Enviado desde mi SM-J700M mediante Tapatalk


JScycle
Posts: 251
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:41 pm

by JScycle

LeMomo wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:02 pm
Sadly the spacing trick doesn’t work with centrelock rotors!
I can't remember where but I saw some centrelock microspacers

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post