power spikes

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
pdlpsher1
Posts: 1688
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: CO

by pdlpsher1

I'm running a DFour and a 520. No weird power spikes on my past four rides. I'm now curious to find out if the 520 is somehow responsible....

are
Posts: 142
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:15 am
Location: Los Angeles

by are

Just to follow-up on this ... turned off the torque measurement in the p2m and now everything is fine; no weird power spikes captured by the Edge 520.

by Weenie


TobinHatesYou
Posts: 1773
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

Do you mean Torque Effectiveness? You can’t disable torque measuring on a power meter because, well, power is torque x velocity.

Keep an eye on your data to see if the spikes are truly gone. There’s no reason why the on/off status of advanced metrics like Torque Effectiveness or Pedaling Smoothness would affect power measurement accuracy. Those values are calculated well downstream.

refthimos
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri May 25, 2012 6:02 pm

by refthimos

Found this thread because I've been getting some 1 second power spikes with my Power2Max NG. What is it that I need to disable? There seemed to be a little confusion/ambiguity earlier in the thread.
SystemSix | On order | BBQ
EVO Hi-Mod | [WW Project in Process]
P5 | 9070 Di2 | Rotor 2Inpower | Aeolus 7 TLR | Alto Disc
T1 | Power2Max Type S | Rolf Prima FX58/Zipp Super 9 Disc

mrlobber
Posts: 767
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 9:36 am
Location: Where the permanent autumn is

by mrlobber

refthimos wrote: ↑
Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:49 pm
Found this thread because I've been getting some 1 second power spikes with my Power2Max NG. What is it that I need to disable? There seemed to be a little confusion/ambiguity earlier in the thread.
Anything not directly related to basic power measurement, i.e. Pedaling Smoothness, Torque Effectiveness etc.

I was also getting spikes on two different Garmin units on my P2M NG, disabled those metrics above through P2M's mobile app, and no spikes ever since.
To verify if it is Garmin or your power meter issue, look at raw data at recording interval (usually 1 sec): if no cadence is present at a power spike, it is Garmin fault since power meter by definition cannot calculate (and broadcast) power without cadence.

Some Garmin units are notoriously bad at receiving ANT+ signals due to stupid antenna placements, to the point they start "inventing" received data themselves. My Fenix is one of these beasts, and 10cm difference in distance to the bottom bracket (put it on stem or on wrist) can mean full power data or less than half of actual data with extended periods of dropouts.
Retired bikes: Cervelo S5 2015 / Felt AR FRD 2014 / Cannondale SS HM 2014 / Scott Addict SL 2014 / Scott Plasma Premium 2014 / Orbea Orca 2008 / Look 596 /

bremerradkurier
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2016 4:18 pm

by bremerradkurier

My Bryton head unit pulling data from a Stages left arm will display a max power at 65536W but shows the more believable ~1000-1400W figure on the actual .fit files.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post