Help me spec a C64

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

964Cup

by 964Cup

So, I'm considering a C64 as an exercise in self-indulgence. But how to approach it now that Campag (it must, of course, be Campag) have thrown several curve balls into the mix.

Choices:
SR EPS v3 11-speed caliper - cross-compatible with my other bikes, I can get a power-meter straight away, all my tools will work
SR EPS v3 11-speed disc - I have no other disc road bikes, I have no experience of hydraulic and will need new tools, but perhaps now's the time to change
SR 12-speed mechanical (disc or caliper) - I assume disc, since compatibility becomes a bit irrelevant. No power meter yet. No quicklinks yet. Half my tools won't work. Unknown quantity - but a) it's the latest thing and b) 52/36 with 11-32 12-speed sounds like a perfect combination.
SR EPS v? 12-speed (disc or caliper) - probably not available until December. Can I wait that long? Plus all the general 12-speed considerations.

I'm assuming it will otherwise be what you'd expect: Bora Ultras (tubular, or the new tubeless WTO), Deda or 3T finishing kit, Campag P2M if it's available for the groupset.

My current inclination is to go with EPS v3 11-speed disc; that way I have some cassette flexibility, my spare chains and quick-links will work, and I can get a PM straight away. I won't be able to swap wheelsets in, but then I don't really need wet weather wheels for a disc bike anyway. But will I regret not going 12-speed? Going 11-speed and then upgrading feels wasteful (even given that this is a ridiculous waste of money in the first place for a man with 15 bikes already). Answers on a postcard, please.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

guyc

by guyc

Are you likely to be riding it in the rain?

c60rider

by c60rider