Powermeter question

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
TobinHatesYou
Posts: 1701
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

Both the 4iiii and Stages dual-leg PMs fit the bill.

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2523
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

robertbb wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:16 am
Hmm. Garmin Connect tells me I'm on the latest version (3.30), but I don't see that option when I calibrate!
Which powermeter are you using as auto zero is not an option for all powermeters (ex. Powertap hubs).
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

by Weenie


robertbb
Posts: 479
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:35 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

by robertbb

ms6073 wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 2:36 am
robertbb wrote:
Tue Apr 10, 2018 12:16 am
Hmm. Garmin Connect tells me I'm on the latest version (3.30), but I don't see that option when I calibrate!
Which powermeter are you using as auto zero is not an option for all powermeters (ex. Powertap hubs).
Favero Assioma Duo pedals
It's ALL about the bike.

RobertBB's CyclePlanner Spreadsheet:
https://weightweenies.starbike.com/foru ... 8&t=152263

banik69
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 6:34 pm

by banik69

Hi there I have a question, there is any way to check my powermeter if sends to my monitor the right numbers ???
I have the old p2m powermeter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

c60rider
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 11:12 pm

by c60rider

banik69 wrote:
Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:54 pm
Hi there I have a question, there is any way to check my powermeter if sends to my monitor the right numbers ???
I have the old p2m powermeter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What's the right numbers though? If that's the only power meter you have then as long as it's consistent ie the effort you're putting out is giving you an expected power output similar to what you've had before for the same perceived effort then it's still accurate. If you use different power meters then you can compare to some degree but if you need to check it's still calibrated as when it was new then you'd probably need it to go back to the factory for them to check unless you have accurate means of doing that. But that's a whole new discussion out of my knowledge base. Only if it starts giving some odd numbers compared to previous similar efforts would I be suspicious of accuracy.

banik69
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 6:34 pm

by banik69

c60rider wrote:
banik69 wrote:
Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:54 pm
Hi there I have a question, there is any way to check my powermeter if sends to my monitor the right numbers ???
I have the old p2m powermeter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What's the right numbers though? If that's the only power meter you have then as long as it's consistent ie the effort you're putting out is giving you an expected power output similar to what you've had before for the same perceived effort then it's still accurate. If you use different power meters then you can compare to some degree but if you need to check it's still calibrated as when it was new then you'd probably need it to go back to the factory for them to check unless you have accurate means of doing that. But that's a whole new discussion out of my knowledge base. Only if it starts giving some odd numbers compared to previous similar efforts would I be suspicious of accuracy.
I have it for years with zero problems, I have a little suspicion but maybe wrong.

With friends training with i compare to some flat of course not climbing and I thing that a little less about 10-15 Watts than they are, but maybe my idea.

I use p2m with pc8 computer, what is the right protocol for my powermeter ?
At srm device agent I have these options
CTF
RCP
TAW
TAC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

banik69 wrote:
I have it for years with zero problems, I have a little suspicion but maybe wrong.

With friends training with i compare to some flat of course not climbing and I thing that a little less about 10-15 Watts than they are, but maybe my idea.

I use p2m with pc8 computer, what is the right protocol for my powermeter ?
At srm device agent I have these options
CTF
RCP
TAW
TAC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Which powermeters do your friends use? Single side?

banik69
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 6:34 pm

by banik69

TonyM wrote:
banik69 wrote:
I have it for years with zero problems, I have a little suspicion but maybe wrong.

With friends training with i compare to some flat of course not climbing and I thing that a little less about 10-15 Watts than they are, but maybe my idea.

I use p2m with pc8 computer, what is the right protocol for my powermeter ?
At srm device agent I have these options
CTF
RCP
TAW
TAC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Which powermeters do your friends use? Single side?
Mmmmm I am not sure but both of them have rotor power meter

I read somewhere that p2m working good only with Renata battery, is this possible?
I thing at dc rainmaker


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AJS914
Posts: 2199
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:52 pm

by AJS914

10-15 watts compared to your friend is meaningless. The only way to check it against another meter is to ride both on the same bike at the same time. If you could find access to a smart trainer you could compare to that.

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2587
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

Renata is the best indeed.
However their custumer support told me that any good quality brand will also work.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post