Bike Choice: Pride v. Reality

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Which Wilier frameset would you buy?

Wilier Cento 10 Air
68%
Wilier Cento 10NDR
32%

Total votes: 28

joelpace

by joelpace

OK guys, I’m thinking about buying a new frame. But, I need some input from you all.

I’m a long time fan of Wilier bikes as they just fit me. I currently have a Cento SR with EPS Super Record. Great bike. I’m looking at the Cento 10 air and the Cento NDR. I’ve been riding for nearly 35 years and still feel like I’m fit and fast (or can be shortly with a good training block - :D ). That points to the Cento 10 Air. Same geometry as my SR. I know that fits.

However, I just turned 50 and have to admit that some days the body doesn’t respond like it use to. Longer rides can be harder. I’m not as flexible as I once was. All of that points to the NDR as it has a more upright geometry. Also it has some rear suspension (sorry) and is compatible with both rim and disc brakes (I’m currently not a fan of discs but this would be a way to hedge my bet).

I have several bikes (Aeroad, ReactoEvo, Specialized Allez DSW,, Wilier Cento SR) so this will not be my only bike.

Question: Which frameset would you buy and why?

wheelbuilder

by wheelbuilder

Which bike would make you smile more? Which bike would you think about more when not riding it? I'm in a similar boat as you. I am 51, and not getting any younger. Recovery takes longer, etc. I'm lucky to have good flexibility and can rotate my hips a lot. I pride myself on my only road bike being of the racy variety. One 5mm spacer, and lots of bar drop. I will hang on to riding this way until it is absolutely impossible. I hope the day never comes when I have to go endurance geometry, tall stacks, and upright positions. I am scared of that day and don't want it to come. Good luck on your decision!
Never cheer before you know who is winning

by Weenie