Trek Domane SL front isospeed question

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

nemeseri

by nemeseri

I have no experience with the trek isospeed feature and I rented a Trek Domane bike recently. Front end of the bike has a very weird front movement. I tried to tighten the headset, but the weird play is still there. I can't point my finger what's moving around in the front end, there is no real movement of the conical spacer, but still when I brake hard, I feel that the whole steering tube moves around a bit.

After a bit of reading there is a chance that this is the isospeed feature of the bike maybe? Can somebody describe the feeling of the feature? I just don't want to ride a bike that might fall apart.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago

I don't really have a definitive answer, but I am curious about this system as I'm sure many are. Does it feel like a loose headset, of the normal variety? Clunking when you hit bumps and stuff? There's parts in there that I would imagine will eventually loosen up and present themselves like that. I'm going to guess that it needs some maintenance and/or adjustment if it actually "feels" weird to you. It was a rental so you probably don't know how much use it's had correct? I am quite curious how this system will hold up in the long term as far as maintenance goes. Did you call the place you rented it from? They should be able to help.
Colnago C64 - The Naked Build; Colnago C60 - PR99; Trek Koppenberg - Where Emonda and Domane Meet;
Unlinked Builds (searchable): Colnago C59 - 5 Years Later; Trek Emonda SL Campagnolo SR; Special Colnago EPQ

alcatraz

by alcatraz

Is it a flexing kind of feeling or a clunk?

/a

nemeseri

by nemeseri