Page 1 of 1

Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:50 pm
by liam7020
Anybody know if it's possible to use Campag EPS on the Tarmac SL6 frameset without modification. I'm pretty sure that the electronic ports on the previous Tarmac models were too narrow for the EPS connectors and was just wondering if this is still the case with the new SL6? Ta.

Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:50 pm
by Weenie

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:36 am
by liam7020
Yep that's complete BS from Colnago. The change did happen several years ago. I found a Dutch bike shop on Facebook who had built a new Tarmac SL6 with EPS and he reckoned he didn't need to modify the frame. Cheers

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:43 am
by Mockenrue
I've just built up a new C60 with SR EPS and I had no problems getting the connectors through the ports - they're plenty big enough.

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 11:06 am
by liam7020
Yeah but the C60 is already EPS compatible. Stand to be corrected on this but the older Tarmacs (SL5 and before) were only drilled to accept the smaller Di2 connectors hence the reason, for example, some of the Astana team were using mechanical Super Record a couple of seasons back. I built a Simplon Pavo 3 frameset with Record EPS sometime ago and although the frame was Di2 compatible it wouldn't accept the bigger EPS connectors. So I had to break out the round file though I wasn't happy about it to say the least!! I think Scott frames are the same but again I stand to be corrected. Hoping with the new SL6 frames Specialized have addressed the issue. Cheers, enjoy your C60.

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:05 am
by rbibko
Tarmac1.jpg
Plenty possible! Only downside is how sore your hands are from people high-fiving you because you're on EPS on a Tarmac!
Plenty possible! Only downside is how sore your hands are from people high-fiving you because you're on EPS on a Tarmac!

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:21 am
by sychen
Arrgh.. Don't temp me.

As a long time campagnolo user.. My current sl6 disc have di2. While functionality great and much better than previous shimano groupsets.. A consistent power leak/drain issue is really annoying (full charge lasts 4 days even not riding). Already rma the battery without success.. Might be the whole group soon.

My thumb still phantom shifts!



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:18 pm
by roadhog44
sychen wrote:
Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:21 am
Arrgh.. Don't temp me.

As a long time campagnolo user.. My current sl6 disc have di2. While functionality great and much better than previous shimano groupsets.. A consistent power leak/drain issue is really annoying (full charge lasts 4 days even not riding). Already rma the battery without success.. Might be the whole group soon.

My thumb still phantom shifts!



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Re Phantom Shifting - EPS shifter has what seems to be an adjustment screw on the inside (where shifter cable attachs) this screw sits near the microshift and appears to adjust the tolerence of lever to microshift contact. I experienced the opposite issue where some of my shifts didn't function and after some adjusment of this screw...it was perfect, hitting everytime!
Perhaps yours needs adjusting to slightly reduce this contact??

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:20 pm
by roadhog44
double post

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:12 pm
by sychen
Sorry.. Not in eps.. Still running Di2.

My thumb does the downshift motion on a non-existent thumb paddle cuz shimano.

Apologies for the confusion.

My thumb aches for campagnolo.. Lol

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:19 am
by ParisCarbon
sychen wrote:
Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:12 pm
Sorry.. Not in eps.. Still running Di2.

My thumb does the downshift motion on a non-existent thumb paddle cuz shimano.

Apologies for the confusion.

My thumb aches for campagnolo.. Lol

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
LOL I knew what you were talking about right away.. 30 years on Campy and went to Di2 on my tarmac 2 years ago... I have the sprint shifters installed on my bars, so at least in the drops I have somewhat of a thumb switch... Im waiting to see what Campy does with the 12 EPS... got an SL6 camo sitting in the basement.. I was ready to do Di2 again, but then campy comes with 12.. and shimano talking wireless..... :noidea:

Re: Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Posted: Mon Apr 30, 2018 4:19 am
by Weenie