Tarmac SL6 Campag EPS compatibility

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
liam7020
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:04 am

by liam7020

Anybody know if it's possible to use Campag EPS on the Tarmac SL6 frameset without modification. I'm pretty sure that the electronic ports on the previous Tarmac models were too narrow for the EPS connectors and was just wondering if this is still the case with the new SL6? Ta.
Belgian Flag S-Works Tarmac viewtopic.php?f=10&t=144553

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

by Weenie


liam7020
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:04 am

by liam7020

Yep that's complete BS from Colnago. The change did happen several years ago. I found a Dutch bike shop on Facebook who had built a new Tarmac SL6 with EPS and he reckoned he didn't need to modify the frame. Cheers
Belgian Flag S-Works Tarmac viewtopic.php?f=10&t=144553

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

User avatar
Mockenrue
Posts: 411
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:32 am
Location: UK

by Mockenrue

I've just built up a new C60 with SR EPS and I had no problems getting the connectors through the ports - they're plenty big enough.

liam7020
Posts: 849
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2010 10:04 am

by liam7020

Yeah but the C60 is already EPS compatible. Stand to be corrected on this but the older Tarmacs (SL5 and before) were only drilled to accept the smaller Di2 connectors hence the reason, for example, some of the Astana team were using mechanical Super Record a couple of seasons back. I built a Simplon Pavo 3 frameset with Record EPS sometime ago and although the frame was Di2 compatible it wouldn't accept the bigger EPS connectors. So I had to break out the round file though I wasn't happy about it to say the least!! I think Scott frames are the same but again I stand to be corrected. Hoping with the new SL6 frames Specialized have addressed the issue. Cheers, enjoy your C60.
Belgian Flag S-Works Tarmac viewtopic.php?f=10&t=144553

"Sometimes you don't need a plan. You just need big balls." Tom Boonen

rbibko
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2013 9:00 am

by rbibko

Tarmac1.jpg
Plenty possible! Only downside is how sore your hands are from people high-fiving you because you're on EPS on a Tarmac!
Plenty possible! Only downside is how sore your hands are from people high-fiving you because you're on EPS on a Tarmac!

sychen
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:06 pm

by sychen

Arrgh.. Don't temp me.

As a long time campagnolo user.. My current sl6 disc have di2. While functionality great and much better than previous shimano groupsets.. A consistent power leak/drain issue is really annoying (full charge lasts 4 days even not riding). Already rma the battery without success.. Might be the whole group soon.

My thumb still phantom shifts!



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


roadhog44
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 pm

by roadhog44

sychen wrote:
Sat Apr 28, 2018 4:21 am
Arrgh.. Don't temp me.

As a long time campagnolo user.. My current sl6 disc have di2. While functionality great and much better than previous shimano groupsets.. A consistent power leak/drain issue is really annoying (full charge lasts 4 days even not riding). Already rma the battery without success.. Might be the whole group soon.

My thumb still phantom shifts!



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Re Phantom Shifting - EPS shifter has what seems to be an adjustment screw on the inside (where shifter cable attachs) this screw sits near the microshift and appears to adjust the tolerence of lever to microshift contact. I experienced the opposite issue where some of my shifts didn't function and after some adjusment of this screw...it was perfect, hitting everytime!
Perhaps yours needs adjusting to slightly reduce this contact??

roadhog44
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 9:56 pm

by roadhog44

double post
Last edited by roadhog44 on Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sychen
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:06 pm

by sychen

Sorry.. Not in eps.. Still running Di2.

My thumb does the downshift motion on a non-existent thumb paddle cuz shimano.

Apologies for the confusion.

My thumb aches for campagnolo.. Lol

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


ParisCarbon
Posts: 1034
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:39 am
Location: Winnipeg Canada

by ParisCarbon

sychen wrote:
Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:12 pm
Sorry.. Not in eps.. Still running Di2.

My thumb does the downshift motion on a non-existent thumb paddle cuz shimano.

Apologies for the confusion.

My thumb aches for campagnolo.. Lol

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
LOL I knew what you were talking about right away.. 30 years on Campy and went to Di2 on my tarmac 2 years ago... I have the sprint shifters installed on my bars, so at least in the drops I have somewhat of a thumb switch... Im waiting to see what Campy does with the 12 EPS... got an SL6 camo sitting in the basement.. I was ready to do Di2 again, but then campy comes with 12.. and shimano talking wireless..... :noidea:

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post