Shoes for low volume feet?

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

Ravnsnaes

by Ravnsnaes

I've been using for Specialized shoes for at least 10 years, but I'm getting bored with them now. Currently using the S-Works 6 in size 43,5.

I have very, very thin low volume feet, but not narrow. I usually bottom out retention systems when trying out new shoes, as well as getting heel lift etc.

I've been looking at Bont Vaypors S and Sidi Shot, as I prefer dial/Boa type retention. Anyone have any feedback on these for low volume feet? No dealers near me stock these shoes in size 44, so I have to buy on the internet, which means I can't try before I buy.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

jekyll man

by jekyll man

I'm in a similar boat as you.
After having 4?? sets of s-works I fancied a change.

Went for Vaypors. Didn't rate them all that highly. Could get away with them on 5-6 hour rides, but weren't comfortable.

Then tried Giro Empires. Fit like a glove. Laces allow you to draw them in where you need. Was that impressed with the fit, I went and bought a second set (of the previous years colourway) as winter shoes.

Also picked up a cheap pair of Lake Boas; they're worth a look too :thumbup:
Official cafe stop tester

dmp

by dmp

The only ones that have worked consistently for me are the Sidi's. I have tried on the Giro's (the old velar strap and ratchet ones that are no longer made) in the store and they were also a good fit, but not any better than the Sidi Wire's that I already was happy with. I have low volume and narrow feet.

robertbb

by robertbb

I've got low volume and pretty narrow feet. I find Lake's last suits me best. Currently on CX301's but do get a bit of annoying heel lift.

jemima

by jemima

I'd have a look at the Pearl Izumi range.