Extralite vs Mcfk stem

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

jever98

by jever98

Apologies if this has been discussed before, search won't let me find "extralite stem" as a phrase (or I'm too stupid to manage to do it).

I'm torn between a MCFK and Extralite stem for a road build. 110mm.

How stiff are they? I once had a floppy stem (a first generation Rotor stem) - the handlebars would dip under braking - which I REALLY disliked. Whilst I'm no sprinter I don't want the stem to move about.

Thanks for inputs.
----
No longer in the industry

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

nickf

by nickf

I have been riding a hyperstem for a few months now. I notice no "flex". Just feels like a stem. Its a 100mm. The only complaint i heard is the extralite could make clamp marks in the handlebars. So far my bars and steerer tube are just fine with no marks whatsoever.

I have a MCFK going on my next build. What i do like is the stem clamps are just 5Nm and can be adjusted with a torque key. Also the bolts are just a standard T6 (from what i remember) the extralite uses a torx head that's not as readily available out on the road. There have been reports of bar slippage with the MCFK. Ill find out if that's true here in a few weeks.

dereksmalls

by dereksmalls

I've got both an MCFK and a Hyperstem in 110m for my new build. Tossing up which to go with myself. Damn choices!! I know the MCFK will be stiffer, but, the Extralite is lighter. And this is WW, so really the choice should be obvious, but even still, decisions, decisions :lol:

jimaizumi

by jimaizumi

The MCFK has a relatively tall stack height (was nearly as high as my old Time Ulteam) so something to consider in regards to aesthetics. Otherwise, both are extremely stiff so it'll probably be a tough choice.