Magura brakes & DI2

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
Thepants
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:34 pm

by Thepants

Hi guys, I'm looking to install DI2 & keep my magura brakes on my TT
Thinking of installing some macro buttons on the bull bars :)

Has anybody any info, eg: wiring diagrams for DI2 cable (core colours & connections) photo would be very helpful

Cheers Nick

by Weenie


Nefarious86
Moderator
Posts: 2314
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 am
Contact:

by Nefarious86

Climbing buttons on the Right side? Shouldn't need front shifting on the drops too often.
Using Tapatalk

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2431
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

You mean like this? Hack! Custom Di2 Buttons Paired with Magura RT8TT Hydraulic Brakes on Triathlon Bike Or Hacking the Heck Out of My Di2 9070

Alternately, for a less labor intensive hack, what about a pair of Shimano SW-R9150 remote shifters?

Image
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

P90Puma
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:00 pm

by P90Puma

I run the R600 climbing shifter on my P3 under the left brake lever, works well.

https://goo.gl/photos/eUcaBSAKkqC4ZDPC8

Thepants
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:34 pm

by Thepants

Hi guys,

Nefarious86/ms6073, good call on the climbing button, I assumed (incorrectly) that you needed to take them into the shifters, but it looks like not needed.

P90Puma, great photo!!

looking to get a tad more stealthy & wiring in some microswitches, that is why I was looking for wiring diagram, I understand there are four wires with the DI2 cable, just not sure, what switches

https://gzmyu4ma9b-flywheel.netdna-ssl. ... o-p509.jpg

User avatar
MayhemSWE
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

by MayhemSWE

Thepants wrote:looking to get a tad more stealthy & wiring in some microswitches, that is why I was looking for wiring diagram, I understand there are four wires with the DI2 cable, just not sure, what switches

It doesn't work that way. It's an encoded digital signal, so you cannot simply splice wires directly to additional buttons. Any additional switches you want to add must be piggy backed to the electronics of a genuine Shimano shifter.

The only shifters to consist of nothing but a dumb switch are the sprint shifters. Those however can only be connected to a special connector on the STI levers, they cannot be used with your time trial setup.

by Weenie


Thepants
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:34 pm

by Thepants

MayhemSWE

Thank you for that info, very helpful :beerchug:

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post