Colnago World Cup frame size [help]

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

biker11122

by biker11122

Hello,

So I bought a 2016 Colnago World Cup SL Disc 105 Cyclocross bike from someone and I'm worried about the size. On its frame there's a sticker with the size which says 56s. From what I understand the 's' means its a sloping geometry, and a 56s is equivalent to a 60cm bike(I didn't knew this when I bought it). To me, this bike doesn't seem to have a sloping geometry, but then again I'm somewhat new to cycling.

I have measured my bike and the measurements seems ok for my height(or at least what most bike manufacturers recommend for my height):
TT: ~550 mm
ST: ~560 mm
HT: ~143 mm
Chain Stay: 422 mm
Reach: ~370 mm
Stack: ~572 mm

I'm a bit worried because it does seem a little big for me(I'm 180cm with an inseam of 83cm (5"11; 32")). I have no standover clearance with no shoes (I touch a little) and I feel I have to stretch a little bit for the levers, but this might be fixable with a shorter stem(currently 11.5cm). I should mention that I've only ridden MTBs until now; this is my first road/cyclocross bike, so it might be that I just need to adjust to the new position.

Can someone tell me what's the deal with the Colnago sizes and if this bike should (theoretically) fit me? I might be able to return the bike, but I do quite like it.

Here you can find more info about the bike:
https://www.racycles.com/product/detail/10239
http://www.tweekscycles.com/bikes/cyclo ... -bike-2016

Thank you.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

morganb

by morganb

Looking at that reach and stack, that definitely doesn't sound like a 60 and looks like it fits more like a traditional 56, if not shorter than average. I'm 5'9" and on a 52 (nominal) with a reach of 375 and stack around 550.

biker11122

by biker11122