Garmin Edge 1030 and Vector 3

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Shrike
Posts: 1198
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm

by Shrike

mpulsiv wrote:Garmin 1030 has 3.5 inch display, good lord. If you need so much real estate, just mount a smartphone with Quad Lock handlebar mount and Quad Lock phone case.



Why?

User avatar
havana
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 5:04 pm

by havana

There is al lot that can be improved on the 1000

- change color of the navigation line
- >2 data fields on map screen
- sync routes OTA without IQ app
- battery life
- add navigate shortest way to route
- better touchscreen that doesn't lock on sweat drops
- smaller bezel
- monochrome mode for colour blind people
- add support for BT sensors
- improve speed and stability of the software
- re-introduce bike profiles
- adjust the ODO-meter
- solution for intersecting routes/loops
- better cadence sensor without ugly O-ring
- improve design
- turn of guidance when Garmin creates route
Most "innovations" in cycling are solutions for non-existing problems.

jwalther
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:08 pm

by jwalther

Kaboom wrote:I JUST purchased a pair of Vector 2, and received them less than 2 hours ago.

If I had known this I might have held out for the Vector 3. Oh well.


I wouldn't worry. . .best to let early adopters work through Garmin's know teething problems with a new product.

moonoi
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:04 pm

by moonoi

mpulsiv wrote:Garmin 1030 has 3.5 inch display, good lord. If you need so much real estate, just mount a smartphone with Quad Lock handlebar mount and Quad Lock phone case.

This is going to be the third generation (e.g. Vector 3) and still no Shimano cleats compatibility?


You could buy a conversion kit for Vector 2 to make them compatible with Shimano Ultegra pedals, looking at this new design it would appear there won't be a similar conversion kit.

Hope these have a higher rider weight limit than the previous generations 85Kg

uraqt
Posts: 816
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:53 am

by uraqt

@moonoi

Thanks i didn't know about the weight limit, and I was seriously thinking about getting a pair... BTW it's up to 90Kg

C

User avatar
slake21
Posts: 125
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 9:59 am
Location: EU

by slake21

Tillquist wrote:Image

man, what an ugly thing!
with those huge round bezels it looks like a polar..

User avatar
mpulsiv
Posts: 1021
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 9:17 pm

by mpulsiv

Shrike wrote:
mpulsiv wrote:Garmin 1030 has 3.5 inch display, good lord. If you need so much real estate, just mount a smartphone with Quad Lock handlebar mount and Quad Lock phone case.



Why?


It's massive! 3.5 inch display + thick bezel. My eyes hurt looking at this on a race bike! How much this thing is going to weight?

Image
Racing is a three-dimensional high-speed chess game, involving hundreds of pieces on the board.

:arrow: CBA = Chronic Bike Addiction
:arrow: OCD = Obsessive Cycling Disorder

User avatar
53x12
Posts: 3762
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 6:02 am
Location: On the bike

by 53x12

moonoi wrote:
mpulsiv wrote:Garmin 1030 has 3.5 inch display, good lord. If you need so much real estate, just mount a smartphone with Quad Lock handlebar mount and Quad Lock phone case.

This is going to be the third generation (e.g. Vector 3) and still no Shimano cleats compatibility?


You could buy a conversion kit for Vector 2 to make them compatible with Shimano Ultegra pedals, looking at this new design it would appear there won't be a similar conversion kit.

Hope these have a higher rider weight limit than the previous generations 85Kg


Previous generation (Vector 2) weight limit is 200 lbs (90kg).

https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/510941#overview
"Marginal gains are the only gains when all that's left to gain is in the margins."

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

And if you weigh more than 200lbs and don't have a Kittel-esque physique, you are either 6'4"+ or have other priorities besides measuring your power...

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2155
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

Tillquist wrote:
Image


What is mounted under the Garmin? A fly 12 light/cam?

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 1190
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

TonyM wrote:What is mounted under the Garmin? A fly 12 light/cam?


Garmin's own headlight.

CLEAR
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 2:20 pm

by CLEAR

slake21 wrote:
Tillquist wrote:Image

man, what an ugly thing!
with those huge round bezels it looks like a polar..

It is... I can't say I like the styling and design direction of newer garmin.

Daniel1975
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 2:46 pm

by Daniel1975

It looks very cheap with this big bezel, round edges and white color, but prices will be premium.... look at the Fenix5, very expensive upgrade after F3.
Why no smaller bezel with same screen-size? My firsr thought was also 'is this a Polar?'

kode54
Posts: 1184
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm

by kode54

fugly. after years...still no improvement over current design. screen should be edge to edge...smaller case. more streamline and better product design.
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9150 + Enve SES 3.4 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9150 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Independent Fabrication Ti FLW + DA9100 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs

uraqt
Posts: 816
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:53 am

by uraqt

And with the product design they don't even have to think about it.. everyone and their grandmother are doing edge to edge. All the last gen products should have been edge to edge. What watch maker has bezels.. even the square Tag has less wasted space. just stupid. Make that dam screen bigger and charge more.

C

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post