Help: Jagwire on Supersix

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
mcinco
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:16 pm

by mcinco

I'm trying to install the rear brake cable using Jagwire Elite Link kit and I'm having problems fitting the liner through the top tube. The liner is just barely larger than the front port. The exiting hole in the rear is plenty large enough.

At this point, seems like I only have two options:
1) Run bare cable with out liner
2) Make front hole larger to fit liner through

Also, it appears cable stops are not required/offered on the front entry port....is this correct?

Thanks for the help on my first build.

Image
Image
Last edited by mcinco on Sat Jul 29, 2017 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
nickf
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:34 pm

by nickf

I run a bare cable through the TT. Once you get the length you need, you cut the liner just a few mm past the last link. The link fits inside the frames cablestop, no end needed just the link itself resting in it. I made the hole on the headtube cable stop a tad bigger with a micro file, just enough so the liner fits through it. The liner is only for the cable segment sections only, not a fully sealed lined system.

by Weenie


mcinco
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:16 pm

by mcinco

Excellent! Thanks for the quick response. I'll give it a shot tonight.

glepore
Posts: 1156
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:42 pm
Location: Virginia USA

by glepore

have a good neodymium magnet handy to help you fish the cable, otherwise you will tear your hair out.
Cysco Ti custom Campy SR mechanical (6.9);Cannondale SS Evo Di2 7970 (5.79); Willier Cento Uno Air Di2 9070 (7.0); C40 Mk2 DA 7800 ; Anvil Custom steel Etap;1996 Colnago Technos Record

User avatar
nickf
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:34 pm

by nickf

I just remove the seatpost. Gives you easy access

User avatar
Frankie - B
Administrator
Posts: 6678
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Drenthe, Holland

by Frankie - B

done ;)
'Tape was made to wrap your GF's gifts, NOT hold a freakin tire on.'

mcinco
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:16 pm

by mcinco

No access here...
Image


nickf wrote:I just remove the seatpost. Gives you easy access

User avatar
nickf
Posts: 600
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:34 pm

by nickf

My mistake! Maybe that was on another bike i worked on. I'll have to check mine next time i go through it. I swear i remember being able to fish it though there. Mine is a 2015 evo hm. These cables last so damn long I forget how its done, which is a good thing.

by Weenie


mcinco
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 6:16 pm

by mcinco

No worries. The cable fed right through and out the rear. I must have gotten lucky!

nickf wrote:My mistake! Maybe that was on another bike i worked on. I'll have to check mine next time i go through it. I swear i remember being able to fish it though there. Mine is a 2015 evo hm. These cables last so damn long I forget how its done, which is a good thing.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post