Shimano Pro Vibe Di2 stem's computer mount option.

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2482
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

Hamfist wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 3:24 pm
billrush wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 12:20 pm
I ordered the Mount Vibe Di2-XL Pro mentioned above this week May 1 2018. It said they were on back order. I then emailed the company and he said they would have them to Ship in July for sure and maybe June. That’s a bummer. I also asked my local Shimano dealer this week to try and order the K-edge model for my Garmin 1030 PRAC0137 and was told it is listed as not yet available. Lots of dead ends here.
That's not good. I'm in the US, too, and neither seem like viable options at this point. Maybe I'll just have to design one myself and have it built.
As nothing was available a few months ago I took a regular K-Edge Garmin mount and grated it. It takes some time to get it properly fitted but it works fine.

Image


Hamfist
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

by Hamfist

TonyM wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 7:07 pm
Hamfist wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 3:24 pm
billrush wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 12:20 pm
I ordered the Mount Vibe Di2-XL Pro mentioned above this week May 1 2018. It said they were on back order. I then emailed the company and he said they would have them to Ship in July for sure and maybe June. That’s a bummer. I also asked my local Shimano dealer this week to try and order the K-edge model for my Garmin 1030 PRAC0137 and was told it is listed as not yet available. Lots of dead ends here.
That's not good. I'm in the US, too, and neither seem like viable options at this point. Maybe I'll just have to design one myself and have it built.
As nothing was available a few months ago I took a regular K-Edge Garmin mount and grated it. It takes some time to get it properly fitted but it works fine.

Image
Good idea. If you can tell after you made it fit, what kind of shape does the Pro bar have? Is it an oval?

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2482
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

Yes oval but differently depending on the distance to the stem. Quite unique shape. That’s why K-Edge needed to make one model specifically for the Pro bars.

Tillquist
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Contact:

by Tillquist

Look here http://edge-mount.bike/?product_cat=vibe-di2



Looking for a Garmin Out-Front mount ?

--->> http://edge-mount.bike
See all my bike h e r e

billrush
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:29 am

by billrush

Tillquist, that Mount is on backorder. Due in July

Tillquist
Posts: 1593
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2005 3:33 pm
Contact:

by Tillquist

billrush wrote:Tillquist, that Mount is on backorder. Due in July
Yes



Looking for a Garmin Out-Front mount ?

--->> http://edge-mount.bike
See all my bike h e r e

billrush
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:29 am

by billrush

Hard to imagine the back story of how Shimano dropped the ball on this. I suspect they counted on the original mount which Team Sky used which used the lower two rear stem bolts and that plan blew up when engineering said it wasn’t safe. Total speculation on my part. But not Garmin mount makes no sense at this point. While I wait, I’m using the rubber banded mount on top of the stem. Not horrible.

Hamfist
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 3:04 pm
Location: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

by Hamfist

billrush wrote:
Sat May 05, 2018 1:25 pm
Hard to imagine the back story of how Shimano dropped the ball on this. I suspect they counted on the original mount which Team Sky used which used the lower two rear stem bolts and that plan blew up when engineering said it wasn’t safe. Total speculation on my part. But not Garmin mount makes no sense at this point. While I wait, I’m using the rubber banded mount on top of the stem. Not horrible.
That's basically what I've landed on. I've rigged up the Garmin Out Front mount to work on my Pro handlebar with some extra padding. It's a bit lopsided but I'll deal with it. For my gravel bike I'm rolling wiht the rubber band stem mount. This is with a 1030 that I recently got.

giolopez
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 7:52 pm

by giolopez

TonyM wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:38 pm
modularwave wrote:
Fri Feb 16, 2018 9:18 pm
I am in the US - Seattle, Washington. The distributor actually said it would be available first in Europe so I was surprised they were able to send one to me.
Good to know. Thanks!
Hello, can you help me with the dealer name?

I tried here in California and no one knows hot to get the mount. I still using a steam strap for mount my computer

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2482
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

Contact your LBS or directly Shimano USA:

SHIMANO NORTH AMERICA HOLDING, INC. / SHIMANO NORTH AMERICA BICYCLE, INC.

One Holland, Irvine, California 92618 U.S.A.
Phone: +1-949-951-5003 / Fax: +1-949-768-0920

bas
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:58 am

by bas

Has anyone found something to work for SRM headunits?

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post