Issue with 4iiii left side power meter

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
ODC
Posts: 95
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2017 9:40 am

by ODC

In Belgium my dealer said that 4iiii stopped delivering power meters for a while because of huge software problems.

Delorre
Posts: 938
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 12:09 pm

by Delorre

ODC wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:08 pm
In Belgium my dealer said that 4iiii stopped delivering power meters for a while because of huge software problems.
Not only Belgium, also Germany, UK etc. Their new podium dual is delayed to at least mid may :evil:

ChadStallion
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:55 am

by ChadStallion

Hmm but no solutions? :noidea: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

Robius
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:35 am

by Robius

ChadStallion wrote:
Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:26 am
Hmm but no solutions? :noidea: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
Hello Chad, 4iiii support sent me some insturactions to solve this problem but none of them worked, I had the exact problem as you after 4 months of indoor use.

It's taking 2 to 3 days to get a reply everytime. It looks like this is going to be a slow process heh.

cjhfield
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:50 pm

by cjhfield

I have the same calibration error 20 problem. I tried all the battery contact checks that support suggested but no luck. I would like to reinstall the firmware but as I am on the latest version the app does not give me the choice of that. I have waited a number of days for further instructions from 4iiii but no reply.

The left side 105 power meter is just over a year old. I bought it from Probikekit. I am in Australia. I am ot sure what my consumer rights are. Under Australian law an item of this value would still be covered under consumer protection warranty even though the manufacturer warranty had expired. Our legislation is a bit vague but things should last a reasonable time and 12 months would not be called reasonable. Apple fixed my out of warranty Macbook Pro free after 2 1/2 years for example. Probikekit I think are based in the UK - anyone know what UK consumer protection laws are? Its a Canadian company - what are Canada's laws like? And if a Canadian company sells to a UK distributor a product that is finally sold to Australia whose laws apply? (I am not really expecting an answer to that).

Chris

ChadStallion
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:55 am

by ChadStallion

Everyone,

Thank you very much for your replies and sharing your thoughts on the same problem I had. Indeed "had"...
I was very lucky actually, I might say:
First I called Canada to explain my problem, they sent me the pdf for fixing this problem (the same cjhfield received I guess). But I explained them that this is not the problem and therefore doesn't resolve it with these suggested solutions. I replied this to them in an e-mail last Thursday, never heard from them since...

The day afterwards I passed by a Garmin GPS shop close by my house and they gave me the contact details of the distributor of 4iii in the Benelux. I called them straight away and explained the problem. The very friendly and helpful correspondent just answered: well okay, I understand, I will send you a new one to your shop and you just replace it by the one you have right now. :o :shock:

Yesterday this unit arrived and it works like a charm. So by this way I want to thank the shop for getting me in touch with the distributor and off course the distributor itself for their brilliant customer service. It seems that 4iii-distributors know about this problem occuring and want to help where they can...

Hope you guys out there dealing with the same issue I had, can get an similar solution to this annoying problem.

greetings

Vegardo
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:43 am

by Vegardo

I just got this same issue this week. Any solution out there? It sometimes work when I do recalibrate after I have started my ride, calibrate via Edge 520. But before ride always gives me Error 20 even if bike is stationary.

1sanglier
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 1:14 pm

by 1sanglier

rainerhq wrote:
Tue Feb 13, 2018 7:28 am
I finally bought the 4iiii. One ride, all good, but...
My phone finds the 4iiii, but won´t connect via bluetooth. It asks PIN. 0000 and 1234 won´t work and because of that, 4iiii app also can´t find the PM.
Does it have to ask PIN or is something with my phone?
Garmin calibrates like it should.
I have the same problem.
Do you solve it ?
Thanks

User avatar
rainerhq
Posts: 674
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Estonia

by rainerhq

Yes. The problem was with the phone (Alcatel Shine). Its BT won´t connect with my car also.
With the other phone its OK.
"Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride"
Jamis Renegade Expert
Spark 900 RC

Vegardo
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:43 am

by Vegardo

I got reply from 4iiii support today and their solution seem to fix it for me. See attached screenshot for instructions.
Screenshot_20180614-164413.jpg
Screenshot_20180614-164655.jpg

Sock3t
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2018 2:20 am

by Sock3t

should I be concerned if I wanted to order one of these today?

Sammutd88
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:14 am

by Sammutd88

Sock3t wrote:
Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:00 pm
should I be concerned if I wanted to order one of these today?
I’ve had mine for 18 months without issue so can’t complain. Had a pioneer on another bike and the power values are very similar so no calibration or accuracy issues at all. I wouldn’t worry.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post