Di2 Wiring help

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

CrankAddictsRich

by CrankAddictsRich

Hey guys... I'm trying to pre-plan some Di2 wiring for a Shiv TT build and I was hoping that some guys with Di2 experience might be able to help me as I have no prior Di2 experience.

Here's the wiring scheme i've come up with.

I bought a very lightly used 6870 Di2 TT set up. Based on the picture, it appears that it comes with a shifters, FD and RD that I've labeled in the photo above. It looks like it also has a 5-way junction box and a JC-41 internal junction box. My plan was to hide the 5-way junction box internal just inside the head tube, along with one of the new BT/Ant + D-Fly boxes. I was going to drill a small hole in the tope of the seat post and mount a 3-way junction box under the saddle so that I could re-charge. Will this work? Thanks in advance guys.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

djwalker

by djwalker

I don't think that you are allowed to have two EW-90's (A and B) in the system at the same time. I haven't tried it myself but none of Shimano's charts or manuals say that it will work. You could use a pair of EW-JC41's or EW-JC130's to combine the shifter wires into a single wire in the downtube. The JC41 is small enough to fit inside of bars and bar extensions (I have done it) so they can be hidden. The other thing to consider is that the 6871 wires are permanently attached to the lever so if the length is wrong you will need additional wires and junctions. Take a look at the attached file which is an excerpt from the technical manual.
Di2TT Wiring.JPG

CrankAddictsRich

by CrankAddictsRich

djwalker wrote:I don't think that you are allowed to have two EW-90's (A and B) in the system at the same time. I haven't tried it myself but none of Shimano's charts or manuals say that it will work.