Cannondale Caad12 BB30a

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
Peeza21
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:00 pm

by Peeza21

I have a 2017 caad 12 with a BB30a

I have been offered the below cranks in bb30 and was wondering if they would fit? I am very untechnically gifted, so before committing I'd hope the experts on here could help. Thanks

Image
Cannondale Supersix Evo HiMod 2012 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=148290

Cannondale Caad12 2017 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=143217&p=1389852#p1389852

by Weenie


Ltyarbro42
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:05 pm

by Ltyarbro42

Short answer: no they won't. The spindle is too short.

goodboyr
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

Ltyarbro42 wrote:Short answer: no they won't. The spindle is too short.


Really?? I think you are wrong......

http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=144719

Ltyarbro42
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:05 pm

by Ltyarbro42

BB30A is wider than BB30. I made the same mistake OP is about to make. I bought a power meter with BB30 and I can confirm, it does NOT fit.

goodboyr
Posts: 1391
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Canada

by goodboyr

Ltyarbro42 wrote:BB30A is wider than BB30. I made the same mistake OP is about to make. I bought a power meter with BB30 and I can confirm, it does NOT fit.


He's not talking about a power meter. He's got a red bb30 crank. You remove the preload adjuster from these cranks and use a wave washer to gain the extra width. Read the thread......

Ltyarbro42
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 6:05 pm

by Ltyarbro42

No shit? I mistakenly got a crank based power meter for a BB30 when the BB30A standard was new. It did not fit. Period. Wave washers do nothing to lengthen a spindle.

You can put a BB30A crank to a BB30 bottom bracket. Not vice versa.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3000 using Tapatalk

AZR3
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Az USA

by AZR3

So the new sram red crank with the hidden bolt fits BB30a, since cannondale specs that on the eTap Hi-Mod, does anyone have spindle length comparing the old and new?

raffit78
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:32 pm

by raffit78

104 mm (old) and 109mm (new) are the two lengths of spindles


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

AZR3
Posts: 689
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 9:00 pm
Location: Az USA

by AZR3

^^thats the lengths of the old/new Red BB30 cranks? Couldn't find anything difinative on google.

srshaw
Posts: 167
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 6:06 pm

by srshaw

I doubt it would fit, spindle not long enough. SRAM Force funnily enough has a longer spindle (or so they recon on the cervelo forum) and would fit. No help to the op though.

deek
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Aug 31, 2012 6:32 pm

by deek

This crank will not fit on BB30A. The newer version with the hidden bolt will if you remove the threaded preload adjuster and replace it with a wave washer and plastic shims.

User avatar
TarugoKing
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2016 3:47 pm

by TarugoKing

Wondering if you are replacing a HollowGram Si on your CAAD12? If yes, why would you?

by Weenie


raffit78
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 5:32 pm

by raffit78

AZR3 wrote:^^thats the lengths of the old/new Red BB30 cranks? Couldn't find anything difinative on google.



I apologize I was referring to the hollowgram spindle sizes.

Image

These have two sizes 104 (older) 109mm (newer)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post