Shimano R9100-P Powermeter

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
BdaGhisallo
Posts: 2025
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:38 pm

by BdaGhisallo

topflightpro wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:04 pm
I use generic rare earth magnets with my SRM. I order them online then hot-glue them to the frame. I've got a bunch of different sizes - widths and thicknesses - and I tape them to the frame first to verify the placement and magnet size works. Then glue it on. The glue doesn't permanently mar the frame at all.
Yup -same here. Works like a charm.


mds
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: California

by mds

ms6073 wrote:
Mon Feb 12, 2018 12:09 pm
Anyone tried using a 3rd party magnet like the K-Edge Pro chain catcher which has a magnet for SRM's? Since I am planning to swap the 9100-P for my SRM DA 9000, was hoping I could simply use the K-Edge that is already installed.
This may or may not work. Compared to the previous SRM cable guide magnet location on my bike, 9100-P magnet is further away from shell centerline and closer to the crank.
2009 Look 595

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

Thanks. Spare time of late has been pretty rare so hoping I can simply swap out the 9100-P for the SRM. After reviewing the dealer manual, it seems like I should be able to leverage the K-Edge Pro as not only can the K-Edge be angled in an out, the magnet assembly can easily be reformed as when I first installed it, the magnet was rubbing the SRMs torque disc.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

Well the K-Edge Pro works fine with the FC-R9100-P for a Scott Solace disc with BB86, but for the life of me, I cannot get the firmware updated as E-Tube keeps returning ERROR when I try to connect to the powermeter, and suggests using the devices Bluetooth where I find the powermeter is already connected.
Last edited by ms6073 on Sun Feb 18, 2018 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

mds
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: California

by mds

ms6073 wrote:
Sun Feb 18, 2018 2:19 am
Well the K-Edge Pro works fine for the FC-R9100-P, but for the life of me, I cannot get the firmware updated as E-Tube keeps returning ERROR when I try to connect to the powermeter, and suggests using the devices Bluetooth where I find the powermeter is already connected.
Good to know on the K-edge. Try forgetting the powermeter's BTLE connection on your device, and retry.

I've been looking at power balance, see pic. A ride with a ~250w threshold climb and some ~190w endurance rollers. Power balance was about 50-52% on the climb, and 52-54% on the rollers.
Attachments
Power Balance Analysis.png
2009 Look 595

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2538
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

Thanks. Installed the e-tube on Smartphone and e-tube for Tablet and neither case would it connect from e-tube! Curiously, with my Garmin Edge 520, running the calibration process from the Garmin and I get 150000/250000, for which the dealer manual does not elaborate so I am unsure of whether this is expected behavior or not. Guess I am going to try and call Shimano USA.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

mds
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: California

by mds

I see a fixed calibration value also. The value changed to a new fixed number after firmware update. This may be just a placeholder that means everything is OK.
2009 Look 595

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2621
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

DC Rainmaker has installed his Dura Ace powermeter....finally.... 8)

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2018/02/5-r ... nd-61.html

moyboy
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:19 am

by moyboy

Curious to see how long it takes for him to put up his initial results.
TonyM wrote:
Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:22 pm
DC Rainmaker has installed his Dura Ace powermeter....finally.... 8)

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2018/02/5-r ... nd-61.html

User avatar
Conza
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 3:28 am
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contact:

by Conza

moyboy wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 3:58 pm
Curious to see how long it takes for him to put up his initial results.
TonyM wrote:
Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:22 pm
DC Rainmaker has installed his Dura Ace powermeter....finally.... 8)

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2018/02/5-r ... nd-61.html
I'd bank on a few months of testing; something comprehensive - not initial results based.
It's all about the adventure :o .

nemeseri
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:40 pm

by nemeseri

Infin1ty wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 9:00 pm
mds wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:31 pm
Infin1ty wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 8:16 pm
btw, did you already charged the unit? like having about 250 hours on it?
Yes, I charged it about 1 month ago, after about 100 hours.
So i will have to wait and see what Shimano are saying about it.
Do you have any updates on this? I'm thinking about getting this PM and now I'm hesitant...

fogman
Posts: 803
Joined: Fri Oct 30, 2009 10:36 pm

by fogman

What type of battery does the Shimano R9100-P power meter use?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It's all downhill from here, except for the uphills.

User avatar
charmette1261
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 11:36 am
Location: France

by charmette1261

More of 4000km with my own ;)

mds
Posts: 199
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2008 6:28 pm
Location: California

by mds

Lithium ion. 4000km also. IMO works better than my SRM.
2009 Look 595

nemeseri
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2015 5:40 pm

by nemeseri

mds wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 6:41 pm
Lithium ion. 4000km also. IMO works better than my SRM.
Can you go into details in what way it works better?


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post