Which power meter: Sram Red + Stages or Quarq Dzero Sram

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.

Quarq v Stages

Quarq Dzero SRAM
78
91%
SRAM Red with Stages
8
9%
 
Total votes: 86

gtinut
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 4:04 pm

by gtinut

Stages uses FSA arm with new axle since FSA's and Sram's spline is different. I never had a chance to compare on since most people I know use Shimano or Quarq.

jlok
Posts: 500
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am

by jlok

gurk700 wrote:Excuse my weak legs. But here's 2 rides. First one with Stages Duraace version 2. Second with Quarq DZero. Exact same route except where I hit start and stop is off by a few seconds. Elevation discrepancy is cause of my Garmin. You be the judge!

Image

Regarding the L/R balance issue, I guess one ride isn't enough to judge.

I have Vector 2 and found that the balance could be different between different activities (say 1hr training ride vs 2hrs+ racing).
Giant Propel Advanced SL Disc 1 < Propel Adv < TCR Adv SL Disc < KTM Revelator Sky < CAAD 12 Disc < Domane S Disc < Alize < CAAD 10

NiFTY
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

I sanded the stages logo off my stages carbon arm. The carbon is quite different from the etap but when do you ever see both crankarms sideon simultaneously on a bike.
Evo 5.02kg SL3 6.77 Slice RS 8.89 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

gurk700
Posts: 58
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 7:40 pm

by gurk700

jlok wrote:
gurk700 wrote:Excuse my weak legs. But here's 2 rides. First one with Stages Duraace version 2. Second with Quarq DZero. Exact same route except where I hit start and stop is off by a few seconds. Elevation discrepancy is cause of my Garmin. You be the judge!

Image

Regarding the L/R balance issue, I guess one ride isn't enough to judge.

I have Vector 2 and found that the balance could be different between different activities (say 1hr training ride vs 2hrs+ racing).

I've used Vector 2 for about a year before this ride (before I gave it to my brother) and I can honestly say the differences were negligible.
99% of the rides were 51% left 49% right for me.

Everybody is different though, obviously.

jeffy
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 11:51 pm

by jeffy

having had p1 PM my experience was that my balance is 45-46 Left @ ~z2/z3 and levels out to 50%+/-0.5% at FTP

i am certainly not saying that one-side is useless as a training tool, but complete power is better for sure.

Currently on P2M

jlok
Posts: 500
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am

by jlok

gurk700 wrote:
jlok wrote:
gurk700 wrote:Excuse my weak legs. But here's 2 rides. First one with Stages Duraace version 2. Second with Quarq DZero. Exact same route except where I hit start and stop is off by a few seconds. Elevation discrepancy is cause of my Garmin. You be the judge!

Image


Everybody is different though, obviously.

exactly that. that's why single-sided power meter are much cheaper.
Giant Propel Advanced SL Disc 1 < Propel Adv < TCR Adv SL Disc < KTM Revelator Sky < CAAD 12 Disc < Domane S Disc < Alize < CAAD 10

Shrike
Posts: 1198
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 5:08 pm

by Shrike

Went with Rotor INpower in the end for her bike. It's reading 10% higher than the Tacx Neo.

I have the same power meter on my bike and it's also reading around 10% higher than the Neo.

Not sure if the Rotors are over-reporting or the Neo is under-reporting.

moonoi
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:04 pm

by moonoi

Quarq has big issue. "Can't zero"

So I recommend "Stages"

See I can do that too.

Personally I just sold my Quarq DZero, whilst their customer service is excellent, I've had nothing but trouble with it, whereas for me at least, I've had no issues with Stages or InPower, and both track within 2-5% of each other on the same route in similar conditions, so I'm also confident in its accuracy. I'd add that the Quarq was also with in the same range, before I ended up having issues with weird zero offset numbers and then correspondingly weird power numbers (either too high, or too low)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

NiFTY
Posts: 1125
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

Signal drop out on stages in my exlerience is always a poor battery contact. If the catches are broken replacement the battery door for dmfree at any dealer, use electical tape temporarily if they fon't have one. If the door is okay, pry up the contacts underneath the battery
Evo 5.02kg SL3 6.77 Slice RS 8.89 viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

leicaman
Posts: 95
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 3:55 pm

by leicaman

My Quarq Dzero finally arrived a few days ago. Installed it yesterday which was a bit of a faff because I needed a bench vice to crimp the Kurled nut into the chainring. I didn't have a bench vice so tried to wing it by using a G clamp. That was a complete waste of time so I ended up buying a bench vice. I was going to go out for a first ride with it today but it has been raining all morning so that will ahve to wait. One thing I did notice is that the left crank arm is a differnet shape to my previous red crank that came with my etap. The crank arm that came with the power meter has a thicker aluminuim plate on the back which makes the crank stick out from the BB more. The arm does seem a differnet shape to the previous crank arm so I'm guessing they will position the pedal in the same place.



This is the Dzero Red crank arm

Image



And here is the original crank arm

Image

JackRussellRacing
Posts: 221
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 4:32 pm
Location: North Carolina, USA

by JackRussellRacing

Those hidden chainring nuts are a total PITA. Considering how clever the folks at SRAM are, I have to believe there's a better way to achieve the same affect. One note, be sure to check the torque of your chainring bolts every "now and then". Mine seem to be off perhaps 1-2 ft/lb after about 500 miles, which I believe does affect the accuracy of the PM.

addictR1
Posts: 1339
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:11 am

by addictR1

any battery drain issue with the Quarq Dzero SRAM?
currently running Stages PM Rival gen2 and still have battery drain issue... :(

kookie
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 8:43 pm

by kookie

addictR1 wrote:any battery drain issue with the Quarq Dzero SRAM?
currently running Stages PM Rival gen2 and still have battery drain issue... :(


I had a battery draining issue when I bought my Dzero last July. After installing the PM, a brand new battery would drain without even riding it (just sitting on a bike rack). yada yada yada...eventually Quarq sent me a new one (just got it this week). So far so good, the battery LED is still green but haven't ridden with it yet.

addictR1
Posts: 1339
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 1:11 am

by addictR1

kookie wrote:
addictR1 wrote:any battery drain issue with the Quarq Dzero SRAM?
currently running Stages PM Rival gen2 and still have battery drain issue... :(


I had a battery draining issue when I bought my Dzero last July. After installing the PM, a brand new battery would drain without even riding it (just sitting on a bike rack). yada yada yada...eventually Quarq sent me a new one (just got it this week). So far so good, the battery LED is still green but haven't ridden with it yet.


oh wow.. i would think battery drain issues should be easily resolved.. but seems it doesn't know when to shut down. :( that's kinda like my stages.. even if i roll my bike around in the house, a week later, the battery is dead. :(

nathanong87
Resident master of GIF
Posts: 3191
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:44 am
Contact:

by nathanong87

no to stages. that's a given.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post