Convert record eps rim to disc

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
Zoeyzidane
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:09 pm

by Zoeyzidane

Apologies in advance if this has been previously asked. I searched but couldn’t find anything.

I have a record eps v3 rim brake groupset which I bought in mid 2016 with neutrons wheels.

I know I will need hydro shifters, calipers, rotors and possibly a new crank.

What else do I need to convert these to the eps disc?

Trying to work out whether to go disc on new bike or keep it as rim.

Thanks, Mick

by Weenie


joejack951
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Wilmington, DE

by joejack951

Are you will to use mechanical disc calipers? TRP HY/RD or Juintech R1 are both options that would save you from having to buy new levers and offer near hydro brake feel. Crank should be fine. I am using a 2016 Chorus crank on a disc frame with 410mm chainstays and don’t have any chainline issues.

Zoeyzidane
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:09 pm

by Zoeyzidane

joejack951 wrote:
Tue May 22, 2018 11:35 pm
Are you will to use mechanical disc calipers? TRP HY/RD or Juintech R1 are both options that would save you from having to buy new levers and offer near hydro brake feel. Crank should be fine. I am using a 2016 Chorus crank on a disc frame with 410mm chainstays and don’t have any chainline issues.
I didn’t know I could use mechanical disc. I thought it was hydraulic.

joejack951
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Wilmington, DE

by joejack951

Zoeyzidane wrote:I didn’t know I could use mechanical disc. I thought it was hydraulic.
Campy’s disc groups are all hydraulic. But that doesn’t prevent you from using a set of regular levers with mechanical disc brake calipers. The benefit of the two calipers I mentioned is that they are mechanically actuated but have hydraulic internals. This greatly improves brake feel in my experience and the pads auto-adjust as they wear vs. manual tweaking with a full mechanical caliper.

Zoeyzidane
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2016 10:09 pm

by Zoeyzidane

Thanks. I am still considering options and it will come down to cost.

Do I need to get new wheels or can I fit the rotors onto the current wheels via a new hub?

joejack951
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Wilmington, DE

by joejack951

I am not certain but I believe your wheels use fairly proprietary hubs so the chances of finding a disc-compatible replacement are quite slim. Someone else may know more.

2lo8
Posts: 368
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:32 am

by 2lo8

Hubs are pretty expensive to replace anyways. Basically the only thing you keep is an old used rim. I wonder how essential a new crank is too. It will surely give better chainline, but it's not like road chainsets haven't been used with 135mm spaced rears berfore.
[6.6kg of no carbon fiber]
[2lo8.wordpress.com]
Your one-stop source for information and reviews on cheap eBay bike junk.

ooo
Posts: 510
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 12:59 pm

by ooo

front disc brake (Juintech R1), rear rim brake
saves a lot of $$ and also weight
'

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post