Page 3 of 5

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:37 pm
by CrankAddictsRich
shinzomaeda wrote:Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Why not mount it on the lower bolts, so its even with the bars? Seems silly to buy an S5 with all of the aero advancements and clean front end and then funk it up with a mount that posts the Gamin up into the wind like a sail.

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:07 am
by Shrike
glam2deaf wrote:I recently found rec-mounts via instagram. Haven't tried them personally, but they look good to me. There are also other options for other bars and computers. https://www.rec-mounts.com/products/cervelo/garmin/


They have exactly the right idea. Just what I'm looking to do.

But so ridiculously ugly. It's like it was made on a gameshow that told you you have 10 minutes to make a mount from anything you find in a garage.

And they're not shy about charging you £60 too.

Thinking of some kind of bodge now. Imagine this, but longer, strapped/taped (maybe with a little rubber wedge) to the underside of the stem.

Image

Probably a shaky mess :|

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 7:58 am
by jekyll man
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
shinzomaeda wrote:Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Why not mount it on the lower bolts, so its even with the bars? Seems silly to buy an S5 with all of the aero advancements and clean front end and then funk it up with a mount that posts the Gamin up into the wind like a sail.



Because you can't hit the start button with it lower?
New garmin mounts sit the unit higher as well.

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:55 am
by shinzomaeda
jekyll man wrote:
CrankAddictsRich wrote:
shinzomaeda wrote:Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Why not mount it on the lower bolts, so its even with the bars? Seems silly to buy an S5 with all of the aero advancements and clean front end and then funk it up with a mount that posts the Gamin up into the wind like a sail.



Because you can't hit the start button with it lower?
New garmin mounts sit the unit higher as well.

Correct, I had problems accessing the buttons when mounted lower.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:05 am
by Shrike
Shinzo, what if it was touchscreen, like the 820? Would it fit? Would be useable too.

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:08 am
by shinzomaeda
Shrike wrote:Shinzo, what if it was touchscreen, like the 820? Would it fit? Would be useable too.

Good point! When I get home tonight I'll swap it over to lower position, extend it out, measure and take a picture!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:10 am
by shinzomaeda
Omg! I've just read that again and sounds wrong !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:11 am
by Shrike
So wrong, but so right :D

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:14 am
by jekyll man
Lap and start / stop buttons ARE on the bottom end on an 820.

Touch screen or not doesnt come into it.


Ive had older mounts not take my 820; maybe the mounting lugs are slightly off set from middle on the newer garmins :noidea:

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 11:38 am
by Shrike
Shame about the 820 buttons. There's goes another idea..

Might end up with one of those rec mount things.

/shudder

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:05 pm
by CrankAddictsRich
jekyll man wrote:Lap and start / stop buttons ARE on the bottom end on an 820.

Touch screen or not doesnt come into it.


Ive had older mounts not take my 820; maybe the mounting lugs are slightly off set from middle on the newer garmins :noidea:


Ahhh. I have an 820 and I use the Barfly Fizik mount on my bikes with S-Works bars. It sits flush and I can still use the buttons easily, but maybe the pointed angle of the S5 bars make it trickier and the Fetha isn't quite as long. Can you get the Fetha in different lengths? I'd contact them... maybe they can develop an S5 specific model. It seems like something that is missing form the market and could be a great business oppurtunity.

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 2:53 am
by silvercivic27
Image
Image

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:04 am
by shinzomaeda
I checked mine last night, by mounted off the bottom stem bolts and it doesn't fit my Garmin 520, I have the short one. Perhaps the long one would be better, but I can't tell at the moment. Sorry I can't help much more.

Miles


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:10 am
by Shrike
No worries, thanks for checking. Still waiting on a reply from Fetha on it. Probably be around 3 weeks for an email reply judging by last time :D

Re: Lets see your S5 Garmin mount solutions

Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2017 10:30 am
by shinzomaeda
Shrike wrote:No worries, thanks for checking. Still waiting on a reply from Fetha on it. Probably be around 3 weeks for an email reply judging by last time :D

That's a shame, he was pretty helpful when I dealt with him before, maybe a busy time? Best of luck, would be interesting to see the solution when it's solved.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk