DIY Di2 sprint shifters

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

User avatar
LAN
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:43 am
Contact:

by LAN

You can just buy a SD300 cable and cut it, and use the two ends as "new" connectors for you old R610

I just did this, and it works perfect. The new Shimano version has a special connector but is is just a SD300 with an extra flange to prevent people to plug it in the wrong hole. The SD300 connector fits fine.

mrbubbles
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 6:28 am

by mrbubbles

LAN wrote:
Tue Sep 20, 2022 1:01 pm
You can just buy a SD300 cable and cut it, and use the two ends as "new" connectors for you old R610

I just did this, and it works perfect. The new Shimano version has a special connector but is is just a SD300 with an extra flange to prevent people to plug it in the wrong hole. The SD300 connector fits fine.
Thanks for the confirmation, which di2 shifter do you have?

by Weenie


Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com



User avatar
LAN
Posts: 240
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:43 am
Contact:

by LAN

I have two bikes both with ST-R9270 shifters

On bike nr. 1 I have spliced two old sets of SW-R610 with a SD300 port. So both climb and sprint button per side in one port.

On bike nr. 2 I have spliced an old set of SW-R610 and an old set of Cateye button with a SD300 port.

Both setup works perfect. As long as you use the lowest slot on the shifter, the signal i just a dumb on/off switch.

Post Reply