DIY Di2 sprint shifters

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2634
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

CallumRD1 wrote:
Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:31 pm
Does anyone know if this can be done in any way on the newer Ultegra 8070 or Dura Ace 9170 hydraulic Di2 shifters? As I understand it, they don't have the dedicated sprint shifter port but they do have a free normal port.
Since there are not dedicated sprint shifter ports, there is no way to effect the sprint shifter mod for the ST-R8070/R9170 shifters. What I did for our ST-R9170 equipped bikes was to add a set of Shimano SW-R9150 satellite shifters but this is a more pricey option as these satellite shifters can be used as standalone shifters, say for a single-speed hydro disc brake project.
Last edited by ms6073 on Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

by Weenie


User avatar
rainerhq
Posts: 780
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:32 am
Location: Estonia

by rainerhq

@ ST-R8070/R9170:
But what about hacking climbing shifter SW-R600 (like here)? Climbing shifter will work in normal port.
Plasma 10 frameset
Domane
"Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride"

CallumRD1
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2017 2:54 pm

by CallumRD1

ms6073 wrote:
Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:29 pm
CallumRD1 wrote:
Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:31 pm
Does anyone know if this can be done in any way on the newer Ultegra 8070 or Dura Ace 9170 hydraulic Di2 shifters? As I understand it, they don't have the dedicated sprint shifter port but they do have a free normal port.
Since there is not dedicated sprint shifter port, there is no way to effect the sprint shifter mod for the ST-R8070/R9170. What I did for our ST-R9170 equipped bikes was to add a set of Shimano SW-R9150 satellite shifters but this is a more pricey option as these satellite shifters can be used as standalone shifters, say for a single-speed hydro disc brake project.

I ended up taking it upon myself to deconstruct a climbing shifter to make a set of low profile satellite shifters. Details can be found here:
https://weightweenies.starbike.com/foru ... 3&t=151321

Cw75lea
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:16 am

by Cw75lea

Now that time has passed how did you like the membrane switches on the top tube? How did you make the connection from the e-tube leads to the membrane switch?

ogre357
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:39 pm

by ogre357

Does anyone have an update on this? Sagan runnign them on an Allez in the Tour down under? A Y-Split cable would free up 2 ports on both levers to be used with the sprint shifters.

ogre357
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:39 pm

by ogre357

Tried with a set of sprint shifters - wont work off the shelf.

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2634
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

While not near as compact as the previous gen sprint shifters, I opted to use the SW--R9150 Remote Satellite shifters with DA ST-R9170 levers.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

flavourflav
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 12:54 am

by flavourflav

I used Grouks method as well, however I placed the membrane switch vertically instead of under the handlebar,
I bought a normal e tube extension, cut it in half and stripped the wires. I then inserted each polarity into the connector of the membrane switch and fixed it with electrical tape.
Connected to the shifter, routed along the handlebar. The excess length I just folded back and forth. Put the handlebar tape over this and a little electrical tape over the edges (can take pictures if needed).
Not the cleanest, but functionally it's extraordinary. Love it.
Have used for over a year, although I have 6 extra switches in a drawer somewhere if some fail.
Cw75lea wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:56 am
Now that time has passed how did you like the membrane switches on the top tube? How did you make the connection from the e-tube leads to the membrane switch?

User avatar
zvucetic
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2019 8:23 am

by zvucetic

Hi,
so it seems that sprint shifters have no electronics, only switch is required?
Is this the same on the new ultergra di2 R8050/8070?

Nefarious86
Moderator
Posts: 2755
Joined: Sun May 25, 2014 4:57 am
Contact:

by Nefarious86

No, only the DA level equipment can use "dumb" switches due to having the communication componentinnthe shifter body electronics. Ultegra needs the SW-R9150 shifters or a hacked climbing switch to work properly.
Using Tapatalk

User avatar
ms6073
Posts: 2634
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Houston, Texas

by ms6073

Nefarious86 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:20 pm
No, only the DA level equipment can use "dumb" switches due to having the communication componentinnthe shifter body electronics.
My understanding is that the original sprint shifters should work with any of the non-hydraulic, Di2 shifters with a port for the remote sprinter shifter, so that would mean ST-6870, ST-9070, ST-R9150, and ST-R8050 shifters are sprint shifter compatible.
Michael - The Anaerobic Threshold is neither...

Ritxis
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: San Sebastian

by Ritxis

.

Ritxis
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: San Sebastian

by Ritxis

Nefarious86 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:20 pm
No, only the DA level equipment can use "dumb" switches due to having the communication componentinnthe shifter body electronics. Ultegra needs the SW-R9150 shifters or a hacked climbing switch to work properly.
error, Ultegra ST-6870 and ST-R8050 also

Ritxis
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:00 pm
Location: San Sebastian

by Ritxis

ms6073 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 3:00 pm
Nefarious86 wrote:
Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:20 pm
No, only the DA level equipment can use "dumb" switches due to having the communication componentinnthe shifter body electronics.
My understanding is that the original sprint shifters should work with any of the non-hydraulic, Di2 shifters with a port for the remote sprinter shifter, so that would mean ST-6870, ST-9070, ST-R9150, and ST-R8050 shifters are sprint shifter compatible.
Exactly, those levers have a sprinter port

Rudi
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:43 pm

by Rudi

Does that mean any switch hacked into an e-tube wire should work if the shifters have the sprinter port? I'm assuming that means the 3rd port as the 6770 shifters only had 2 if I remember correctly?

I'm thinking about the cateye switches that a lot of people used when Di2 came out originally and whether that would work again?
Cervelo R3 - 5.4kg viewtopic.php?f=10&t=142420

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post