Di2 upgrade?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
dane476
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 8:34 pm

by dane476

Hi I currently have a supersix evo with ultegra 6770 di2 on it and want to upgrade to 9070 what do I need? The whole upgrade kit? Can the existing cables be used?

Thanks I'm advance

oscarach
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 2:38 pm

by oscarach

Yes existing cables can be used.
Should be able to use the existing battery and junction boxes as well.
Last edited by oscarach on Fri Aug 08, 2014 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
showdown
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2010 4:48 pm

by showdown

That's not really a valid question as 9070 is a totally different group from 6770 so technically if you wanted to "upgrade" to 9070 you'd have to buy 9070.

What do you want out of a new Di2 group; weight savings, 11-speed, aesthetics...? Is there anything you want to keep from 6770? Are you trying to keep the cost down?

If you're just looking to go to an 11-speed system, read this: http://fitwerx.com/converting-shimano-u ... o-11-speed

...and be prepared to buy new wheels.

dane476
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 8:34 pm

by dane476

Sweet, I'm after the weight saving really the old 6770 is quite heavy

dane476
Posts: 205
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 8:34 pm

by dane476

Trying to do it as cheap as possible, I was thing / hoping I could just swap out the mechs and shifters and the rear wheel

Philbar72
Posts: 143
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2013 9:47 am

by Philbar72

Part 1 is the rear mech that's where everything is controlled from. 2 The front mech is a bit lighter, a lot lighter actually. 3 Shifters, probably last. You can leave your existing wires there, and just plug the new bits in.

pdlpsher1
Posts: 1541
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:09 pm
Location: CO

by pdlpsher1

Get the internal battery if you really want to save weight.

wangsanegara
Posts: 63
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:10 am

by wangsanegara

dane476 wrote:Hi I currently have a supersix evo with ultegra 6770 di2 on it and want to upgrade to 9070 what do I need? The whole upgrade kit? Can the existing cables be used?

Thanks I'm advance


You can actually use most of the parts. What I did was changing the FD and RD only. It works great.

Andreas

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post