Felt 2014 AR1

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Mize
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati Area, Ohio, USA

by Mize

I got to "visit" my build at the LBS to get some measurements off my Tarmac on Saturday. Looks sweet with the Enves. Picking it up Tuesday but the weather here is crap for at least another 10 days :( Still haven't decided on a saddle but leaning toward the Fisik Kurve or the Prologo Zero II CPC Nack.

Mize
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati Area, Ohio, USA

by Mize

Nosuga wrote:No quick release. My wheels are 26.2mm at the brake track. 23 mm tires. So no need to run a quick release.


My Enves don't need a QR, but I have some training wheels (alloys with powertap) and it's looking like the Shimano direct mounts are doing to make changing wheelsets a real pain. Would be nice to fit a QR and a barrel somewhere en route to that brake.

by Weenie


mitchgixer6
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:22 pm

by mitchgixer6

Is it any easier to fit the training wheels with the air out of them? I'll be swapping between Reynolds Attack tubular and Mavic Cosmic Elite and would love to get away with just a barrel adjuster. That shimano QR is really ugly and bulky. I did consider fitting the qr under the bb to get it out of the way, but not sure how it would cope with wet conditions down there.

Mize
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati Area, Ohio, USA

by Mize

mitchgixer6 wrote:Is it any easier to fit the training wheels with the air out of them? I'll be swapping between Reynolds Attack tubular and Mavic Cosmic Elite and would love to get away with just a barrel adjuster. That shimano QR is really ugly and bulky. I did consider fitting the qr under the bb to get it out of the way, but not sure how it would cope with wet conditions down there.


Where would you put the barrel?

Twinning
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm

by Twinning

Mize wrote:
Nosuga wrote:No quick release. My wheels are 26.2mm at the brake track. 23 mm tires. So no need to run a quick release.


My Enves don't need a QR, but I have some training wheels (alloys with powertap) and it's looking like the Shimano direct mounts are doing to make changing wheelsets a real pain. Would be nice to fit a QR and a barrel somewhere en route to that brake.


You put an inline QR on the line into the rear brake. I believe it's shimano cb-90. It opens up and also is a barrel adjuster. Pretty nice cuz I can adjust mid ride because it is in my cockpit. Image


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mize
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati Area, Ohio, USA

by Mize

Thanks Twinning. I've got one of those on order. There's no barrel on it though, is there? I think for adjustment you have just the cable pull and then a single-side adjustment, right?

Twinning
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm

by Twinning

Mize wrote:Thanks Twinning. I've got one of those on order. There's no barrel on it though, is there? I think for adjustment you have just the cable pull and then a single-side adjustment, right?


The QR is also a barrel adjuster. It can be spun to tighten or loosen the brake. There is an adjustment on my 9000 direct mount brake that moves the brake if it is off center


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mize
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2013 1:10 pm
Location: Cincinnati Area, Ohio, USA

by Mize

Whew. Good news. Bad news it he bike shop says the QR won't be in until Thursday. Then again we're looking at sub-freezing temps and snow until at least Sunday so not that much of a loss. I don't think the AR1 will give me any advantage on my rollers. :)

Twinning
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm

by Twinning

Your shop should also put a barrel adjuster somewhere before the cable goes into the frame for the front derailleur. I assume any knowledgeable mechanic will do that


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mitchgixer6
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:22 pm

by mitchgixer6

Thanks for the pic Twinning. That's why I thought about putting the QR under the BB, I'm sure it wouldn't make much real world difference but the QR there doesn't look very aero to me. A barrel adjuster, to my mind, would be much neater.

mitchgixer6
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:22 pm

by mitchgixer6

Nosuga, what barrel adjuster is it you have in line for the rear brake?

With all this talk of QR's I suddenly thought to myself that barrels are usually designed for gear cables so I'd better check the SRAM barrels I bought would fit the thicker width of the brake cables. Turns out they don't! Doh! Looks like I might need the QR after all.

Twinning
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm

by Twinning

mitchgixer6 wrote:Thanks for the pic Twinning. That's why I thought about putting the QR under the BB, I'm sure it wouldn't make much real world difference but the QR there doesn't look very aero to me. A barrel adjuster, to my mind, would be much neater.


I guess you could put the QR near the BB but that would probably disrupt airflow just as much as it would at the top. I haven't tested it out in an air tunnel but I'm sure it won't be the difference between first place and second place in a race.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mitchgixer6
Posts: 228
Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:22 pm

by mitchgixer6

Yeah I know it wouldn't make too much difference in terms of actual drag, but it seems a shame to put such an item that hangs out in the airflow on such a dedicated aero bike. Plus I don't care much for the design of it.

Monkeyboy3333
Posts: 632
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:41 pm

by Monkeyboy3333

All that hard work on the frame and the quick release may as well be a parachute for slowing the bike down!!

by Weenie


Twinning
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:18 pm

by Twinning

Having mechanical cabling coming out of the bike already is less aero than electronic. What's one extra QR going to do?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post