Best way to replace rails on Arione saddle?

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Post Reply
Svetty
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:06 pm
Location: Yorkshire - God's Own Country

by Svetty

I have a broken (Kium) rail on an otherwise newish saddle. I also have an older ordinary Arione. What is the best way to replace the broken rail with one from the other saddle? Solvents, heat, mechanical force? Thanks

lannes
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 9:51 pm

by lannes

don't think you can do it, without affecting it structurally, you probably just break it somewhere else after you unbond it

by Weenie


Svetty
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:06 pm
Location: Yorkshire - God's Own Country

by Svetty

187 views and only one reply :(

Can't believe that with a modicum of ingenuity and engineering skill this can't be done. Will report back once done it :)

mattr
Posts: 3831
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: The Grim North.

by mattr

If the rails are not bonded in (some CF saddles have bonded in rails i think?) you *can* stretch/flatten the saddle and bend the rails until they pop out of the location features. You may end up with a permanently bent rail if you go too far. Also, best to work out which of the location features are deepest, and work on the other ones! (less bending to pop it out).

Best method is brute force and swearing (unfortunately).

And a big vice.

Svetty
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:06 pm
Location: Yorkshire - God's Own Country

by Svetty

Was thinking of drilling broken ends of rail out of saddle, and liberating rail from donor saddle by effectively destroying locating sockets. Just need then to locate rail....

Tenlegs
Posts: 286
Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:37 am

by Tenlegs

From 1:22 you can see (briefly) how the rails are fitted, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTS3v_fEJIk
and here from 4:00 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rwCkbcUXCJ8

pyrahna
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 9:53 pm

by pyrahna

Honestly drop a note by Fizik's customer service. Assuming you didn't set out to intentionally break the saddle they will probably cover it. They just warrantied a saddle for me and it was an utterly painless experience.

Svetty
Posts: 519
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:06 pm
Location: Yorkshire - God's Own Country

by Svetty

@ pyranha. Could u let me have contact details? I'm in UK btw
Thanks!

User avatar
ultimobici
in the industry
Posts: 3116
Joined: Sun Nov 21, 2004 2:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

by ultimobici

Why not just walk into the store that you purchased it from and ask them if they can send it back to Extra who are the UK distributor?

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post