Page 1 of 1

New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2013 11:54 pm
by uraqt
It looks like there are new shifter clamps in DA 9000?

The 7900 ones look much thicker and have different part number?

Anybody weigh 9000, I think the 7900 are posted on the board someplace.

Thanks

C

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:34 pm
by maxxevv
They are different as far as I can see. More material cut out for those on the DA9000.

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 2:34 pm
by Weenie

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:49 pm
by uraqt
That is what I thought!! : )


C

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Sat Mar 23, 2013 9:01 pm
by Pharmstrong

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:32 am
by uraqt
No rust!!!! just like 7900

C

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Sun Mar 24, 2013 7:48 am
by Doolop
Just recently got 9000, had 7900 in the past. As a bike nerd one of the first things I noticed about the new shifters were the new clamps! Less material, did not weigh them but I can only assume they are a tad lighter.

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 4:55 am
by CAADEL
Are those DA-9000 clamps compatible with DA-7900 shifters?

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 6:53 am
by uraqt
CAADEL,

The Shimano website says the nut isn't compatible, but as far as the clamp part, I am thinking that it has to work with all shifters.. I am a Campy 10 speed guy and plan to buy them as soon as the are available in the USA.. : )

C

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Mon Mar 25, 2013 7:08 am
by maxxevv
The Ti, non-rust properties are nice, besides the weight of course. But issue is ... those bands are expensive!!! Last checked for the 7900 ones, they were about US$108 for the pair !

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:37 pm
by styrrell
I have some sections of seatpost that are pretty thin and look to be about the correct diameter to use a clamps. One is from kcnc, so its thin aluminum.

he idea is to just and deburr, drill a hole then thread the proper size bolt through and epoxy it in place. Any one try this?

As a point of reference I tried years ago with flat aluminum that I bent and cut, mimicing a steel clamp, but it broke after about 6 months, luckily gently so no issues. The break was at a bend so that will be avoided this time.

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 11:18 pm
by cerro
Isn't the new 9000clamps same ti-clamps what was on 7970? They have ti-clamps too while the mechanical 7900 had steel. Would like to get those ti-clamps for my Super Record levers :) Nice weightsaving without functionchanges.

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 11:18 pm
by Weenie

Re: New shifter clamps in DA 9000?

Posted: Wed Mar 27, 2013 12:37 am
by 5 8 5
The 7900 clamps are titanium and very expensive. Discussed here -
http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=99861&start=0