DuraAce 9000 10 speed wheel compatibility

Discuss light weight issues concerning road bikes & parts.
Flasher
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:10 pm

by Flasher

jasjas wrote:A better one would be Cameras - Canon V Nikon, (Campag v shimano) neither company brings out a new body or lense that has a different fit, everything is backward compatable - Shimano 9000 isnt electronic and wheels arnt either.
Imagine if Canon change their mount and all those EF/s lenses wouldnt fit anymore? their sales would fall through the floor.


Er......

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_FD_lens_mount

by Weenie


bm0p700f
in the industry
Posts: 3706
Joined: Sat May 12, 2012 7:25 pm
Location: Glermsford, Suffolk U.K
Contact:

by bm0p700f

Also would a longer 11 speed shimano freehub body wrok on a 10speed hub body with flange spacings for 10 speed.The 11 speed hub body has different flange toi centre distances to accomadate the longer freehub body.

Campag even had more than one 8 speed free hub body spline pattern.

jasjas
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:15 am

by jasjas

Flasher wrote:
jasjas wrote:A better one would be Cameras - Canon V Nikon, (Campag v shimano) neither company brings out a new body or lense that has a different fit, everything is backward compatable - Shimano 9000 isnt electronic and wheels arnt either.
Imagine if Canon change their mount and all those EF/s lenses wouldnt fit anymore? their sales would fall through the floor.


Er......

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canon_FD_lens_mount" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;



there were/are adaptors to make a FD lens fit a EF mount :) as there are with the Nikon as well, and that is my last word on it :beerchug:

User avatar
ave
Posts: 1720
Joined: Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:15 pm
Location: Hungary

by ave

My plan is to modify a 10sp cassette to work with 11 speed indexing.
Obviously I cannot modify the space betwen the 3 and 2 cog clusters, but I can change the space between the two clusters and then between all the other cogs.
The tiny difference in the two clusters will not be a problem.

spartan
Posts: 1134
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 2:52 am

by spartan

does anyone know if the current 10 speed chain tool will work with 11 speed chains
Current Rides:

2017 Giant TCR Advanced SL 0 DI2 9150

User avatar
GZA
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:49 pm
Location: Chilterns, England

by GZA

Why not get an 11spd cassette and drop the 11 sprocket? None of us really need that anyway ;)

jasjas
Posts: 132
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:15 am

by jasjas

GZA wrote:Why not get an 11spd cassette and drop the 11 sprocket? None of us really need that anyway ;)



the indexing/spacing is different so you d stil need the sti's/chain/cassette - one the USA top spesh guys did that as he didnt have an 11sp wheel
bit pointless for the rest of us, surely?

User avatar
lancejohnson
Posts: 2832
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2005 6:08 pm
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Contact:

by lancejohnson

I have tubular wheels because I live in Colorado and don't trust clinchers descending the mountains. I'd go ahead and get 9000, but it would be a waste to have to ditch all my 10spd shimano wheels, which are nice carbon tubulars. If I could put a 9000-compatible 10-speed cassette on my 7850 hubs then it would make a lot more sense for me. Besides, my biggest interest in 9000 is the improved performance not an extra gear...
___________________________________________________

"Organization is for the simple-minded, the Genius controls the chaos." - Jens

KLabs
Posts: 380
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 4:29 am

by KLabs

KLabs wrote:
borja wrote:Hi!

I'm considering switching from Dura Ace 7900 to 9000.
I have some old wheelsets which are 10speed and cannot be upgraded to 11. (DA WH78xx 50mm carbon tubs for example )
My question is - will the 9000 work with 7900 10speed sprockets? As far as I get it the spacing between sprockets is the same, on 9000 they just added one more sprocket so the cassete is wider.
So, theoretically, the shifter should work if you limit the deraileur (and of course you'll have one click to much)

Any comments appreciated!

According to another thread I have been reading, the answer is 'yes' you can use a 10spd cassette with the 9000 RD and 9000 STI lever :-)

User avatar
GZA
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 1:49 pm
Location: Chilterns, England

by GZA

jasjas wrote:the indexing/spacing is different so you d stil need the sti's/chain/cassette - one the USA top spesh guys did that as he didnt have an 11sp wheel
bit pointless for the rest of us, surely?


Not if you want to use a 10 speed wheel?

bruno2000
Posts: 668
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:11 pm

by bruno2000

Has anybody now tried a shimano 10speed cassette with an 11spd groepset?
If so, did you use a 10 or an 11 chain?

@Klasp, where is that other thread saying it would work?

I received an 11spd group of Shimano, but all my wheels are 10spd.


eric01
Posts: 530
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:06 am

by eric01

how quickly we forget that shimano went from 8, to 9 to 10 speed for what, about 20 years all while maintaining backwards compatibility. Forwards compatible even!

You couldn't put an 11 tooth cog on the oldest 8 speed hubs... and there was that oddball 10 speed only Dura Ace 7800 spline... but everything else worked fine. I have a 10 speed ultegra cassette on some 1996 Nuke Proof 8 speed hubs!

Personally, I would prefer that Shimano makes "the best" group they can -- even if it means some of my old wheels won't work with the new group. I'm still going to buy it.

Eric
AX Lightness Vial Evo, Carl Strong Titanium

bruno2000
Posts: 668
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 4:11 pm

by bruno2000

In the French magazine Le Cycle they were testing a pair of Mavic Cosmic SLE wheels.
They said that you use all existing Mavic wheels with the M10 body with 11spd dura-ace cassette.

User avatar
LAN
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 11:43 am
Contact:

by LAN

Just measured a 9000 cassette, the total height of the cassette is 39,6mm

So the cassette spacing should be 39,6mm - 1,6mm = 38mm / 10 = 3,8mm

Shimano 10-speed is 3,95, so a difference of 0,15mm per gear. Will not work very well.

But the difference between Campagnolo 11-speed (3,85mm) and Shimano 11-speed is just 0,05mm per gear, so that should work ok.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post