Garmin Edge 530/830 Discussion

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

AJS914
Posts: 3770
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:52 pm

by AJS914

This is software on which platform?

My 510 has had trouble syncing with my iphone lately.

by Weenie


User avatar
Juanmoretime
Administrator
Posts: 7297
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:08 am
Location: Urbana, Illinois

by Juanmoretime

Alright lately my Garmin Edge 530 has been uploading at the end of the ride. This is good. I’m in Chicago visiting family and brought my cross bike to ride while here. This is the second time this has happened in Chicago. I ride down to Lake Michigan and my Garmin stops recording. I have to totally shut it down and then restart it to get it recording again. Then it records weird as in recording way less then distance then I’m actually riding. I had to shut it down a few times before it recorded correctly. I’ve been a Garmin computer user for years but this 530 is making getting a Wahoo looking better every day.
RESIDENT GRUMPY OLD MAN.

jlok
Posts: 1162
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2015 3:30 am

by jlok

@Juanmoretime too bad... it looks like a 2nd hand 1030 could be much better than the 530 from a software stability perspective. The 1030 software is very stable now even with lots of CIQ datafields active. But that is without the Sony GPS chip I think.
Litespeed T1sl Disc / BMC TM02 < Giant Propel Advanced SL Disc 1 < Propel Adv < TCR Adv SL Disc < KTM Revelator Sky < CAAD 12 Disc < Domane S Disc < Alize < CAAD 10

NiFTY
Posts: 1338
Joined: Sat May 26, 2012 11:26 pm

by NiFTY

I had issues w phone dropouts and not auto connecting to my 530. Updated software on both phone and garmin has fixed issue. Super stable and quick now. Don't have garmin connect running in background.
Evo 4.9kg SL3 6.64kg Slice RS 8.89kg viewtopic.php?f=10&t=110579" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

bilwit
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:49 am
Location: Seattle, WA

by bilwit

oops wrong thread

sychen
Posts: 702
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 1:06 pm

by sychen

Sigh... 820 battery is in decline after 2 yrs of use. Probably get a battery replacement for now but there doesn't seem to be any awesome features to go to the 830 at this point as well as the wahoo roam being an option.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


Butcher
Shop Owner
Posts: 1003
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:58 am

by Butcher

I had a 820 and now a 830. It was well worth the money spent. Lots more information if you are into training and like data.

User avatar
Juanmoretime
Administrator
Posts: 7297
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:08 am
Location: Urbana, Illinois

by Juanmoretime

Compared to my Garmin Edge 520 my Edge 530 is just a piece of garbage. Buttons that are too hard to push, have to turn on Gramin connect to get it to upload my ride. Just stops recording for no reason at all in about the same place but not consistantly. Some days I can ride thru this area no issuses and others I look down and it stops recording and the fix to it tis to save what I have shut it down and reboot. Very frustrated and I've been a Gramin fan for years. Strongly considering going to the Wahoo Roam.

Talk me out of it or convince me to make the change!
RESIDENT GRUMPY OLD MAN.

User avatar
miltmaster3
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: patra greece

by miltmaster3

Juanmoretime wrote:Compared to my Garmin Edge 520 my Edge 530 is just a piece of garbage. Buttons that are too hard to push, have to turn on Gramin connect to get it to upload my ride. Just stops recording for no reason at all in about the same place but not consistantly. Some days I can ride thru this area no issies and others I look down and it stops recording and the fix to it tis to save what I have shut it down and reboot. Very frustrated and I've been a Gramin fan for years. Strongly considering going to the Wahoo Roam.

Talk me out of it or convince me to make the change.
Just go to 830 ! After my 520 that had only battery problem switch to bolt !! I remember the edge 500 to connect my sensor was a pain in the @@ the came the master problem ...... no connection with my elite trainer ! ! The answer was ‘ we know the problem we are workin ‘ no indoor trainer no training ! I sold it and go to 830 ! I have no issues at all ( P2max - speed ) everything is working as it should be !


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
πατα τραβα ρε

AJS914
Posts: 3770
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 6:52 pm

by AJS914

I wish Garmin would get their act together. I've been sitting on the sidelines for a while now still using my 510. I guess I'm going to stay on the sidelines until the 510 croaks. I thought the 530 was the way to go. Maybe a cheap, used 520 would be fine. $400 for an 830 is pushing it for me (price wise).

User avatar
IrrelevantD
Posts: 631
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 5:47 pm
Location: Near DFW Airport

by IrrelevantD

So I'm looking at getting a 530 or 830.

I previoulsly had an 810 which I liked, but didn't like that they made the screen smaller for the 820. I currently have a 1000 and the original Wahoo Elemnt. Issues with lockups/crashing is what caused me to go to the Elemnt, but I've been plagued by loss of tracking due to the Wahoo app shutting down on my phone, and now battery life issues. The Elemnt is currently on it's way back to Wahoo for a warranty replacement. While I've been able to get the 1000 running again, and it doesn't seem to crash, I've been having "white screen of death" issues with it on startup. I can hold the power button until it reboots a few times and get it working, but it's inconsistent on how many reboots it takes to get it there.

I also have been extremely unhappy with the Wahoo's GPS accuracy. Stright line routes are fine, but 8 miles of single track and the Wahoo comes up about a mile short. My guess is that's the difference between GPS+GLONASS and smart recording on the Garmin and GPS only on the Wahoo.

My biggest complaint about the 1000 was the touch screen. I honestly feel like the 810 was better. In the wet, or if sweat gets on it, it's horible. Only thing worse is my iphone. Screen locks due to water/sweat, then I can't get to anything on it.

So, here's where I'm at... I've decided that as soon as Wahoo gets me a new Elemnt, I'm selling it and putting that money into either a 530 or 830. The question I have for you guys is if the touch screen on the 830 is any better than the 1000. I like the idea of having the better routing on the 830, but I lived with the Wahoo for 9 months, I supose I can live without it on a Garmin. I'd prefer to have a touch screen, but if I'm going to have the same issues as with the 1000, I'll probably opt for the 530.

Sorry for the long post, but any assistance would be apriciated.
* There is a 70% chance that what you have just read has a peppering of cynicism or sarcasm and generally should not be taken seriously.
I'll leave it up to you to figure out the other 30%. If you are in any way offended, that's on you.

User avatar
miltmaster3
Posts: 683
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2008 7:29 pm
Location: patra greece

by miltmaster3

IrrelevantD wrote:So I'm looking at getting a 530 or 830.

I previoulsly had an 810 which I liked, but didn't like that they made the screen smaller for the 820. I currently have a 1000 and the original Wahoo Elemnt. Issues with lockups/crashing is what caused me to go to the Elemnt, but I've been plagued by loss of tracking due to the Wahoo app shutting down on my phone, and now battery life issues. The Elemnt is currently on it's way back to Wahoo for a warranty replacement. While I've been able to get the 1000 running again, and it doesn't seem to crash, I've been having "white screen of death" issues with it on startup. I can hold the power button until it reboots a few times and get it working, but it's inconsistent on how many reboots it takes to get it there.

I also have been extremely unhappy with the Wahoo's GPS accuracy. Stright line routes are fine, but 8 miles of single track and the Wahoo comes up about a mile short. My guess is that's the difference between GPS+GLONASS and smart recording on the Garmin and GPS only on the Wahoo.

My biggest complaint about the 1000 was the touch screen. I honestly feel like the 810 was better. In the wet, or if sweat gets on it, it's horible. Only thing worse is my iphone. Screen locks due to water/sweat, then I can't get to anything on it.

So, here's where I'm at... I've decided that as soon as Wahoo gets me a new Elemnt, I'm selling it and putting that money into either a 530 or 830. The question I have for you guys is if the touch screen on the 830 is any better than the 1000. I like the idea of having the better routing on the 830, but I lived with the Wahoo for 9 months, I supose I can live without it on a Garmin. I'd prefer to have a touch screen, but if I'm going to have the same issues as with the 1000, I'll probably opt for the 530.

Sorry for the long post, but any assistance would be apriciated.
The 830 touch screen is the same as the touchscreen of smartphones


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
πατα τραβα ρε

northshore
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:35 pm

by northshore

It isn't nearly as responsive as a smartphone. I get a lot of missed taps with my 830.

TobinHatesYou
Posts: 4837
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2017 12:02 pm

by TobinHatesYou

The 830 touchscreen is less sensitive than the 1030’s according to my dry-ass fingers. I almost always have to lick my glove or fingertip in order to successfully swipe between data screens. Drag-scrolling is very unreliable and I just use the up/down arrows at the bottom of the screen.

I do like the features of the 830, but it has minor issues like this. Also the start/stop button got mushy within days of owning it. I’m just glad it’s not a 530 because then mushy buttons would be a huge annoyance. Also occasionally my 830 will seem catatonic with the screen dark, but apparently it’s actually on/running. Holding the power-button for 15s doesn’t seem to reliably powercycle it out of this state, but it eventually rights itself.

It’s still vastly superior to Wahoo’s lineup in both hardware spec and featureset.

by Weenie


User avatar
kytyree
Posts: 680
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 4:55 am
Location: US

by kytyree

DC Rainmaker seemed to really like the value of the 530 compared to the 830 but then there was nothing on these problems.

Makes it hard for me to want to switch from the 520+, though I know people have had similar problems with it, mine has been trouble free.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post