Any feedback on the garmin speed and cadence sensors (the magnetless ones)

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

mdeth1313
Moderator
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:38 am
Location: Dutchess County, NY

by mdeth1313

As my GSC-10 speed/cadence sensors are getting older, I was looking at the magnetless speed/cadence sensors that mount on the hub and crank arm. Does anyone have any feedback on their performance, lifespan, etc and or comparison to using the GSC 10 with magnets?

Thx...
Speedplay is the devil!

coriordan
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:30 pm

by coriordan

No issues whatsoever. Have gsc-10 on one bike and the hub based one on another. Both fine.

The cadence sensor on the new one does seem to be vunerable to being snagged and ripped off.

by Weenie


User avatar
Juanmoretime
Administrator
Posts: 7093
Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 11:08 am
Location: Urbana, Illinois

by Juanmoretime

I have the wheel speed sensor and it works fine. Battery life seems to be about a year. I only use it while on the rollers in crumby weather otherwise I strikely go off the GPS in my Garmin Edge 520. No experience with the cadene sensor.
RESIDENT GRUMPY OLD MAN.

kode54
Posts: 1266
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 9:39 pm

by kode54

i had a set, but ended up getting rid of them. they just look fugly. didn't care for them. i wing it and use the GPS in my Garmin.
- AX Lightness Vial EVO D + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee Altum + DA9150 + Enve SES 4.5 carbon hubs
- Parlee ESX + DA9150 + THM SRM PM + Enve SES 6.7 CK hubs
- Guru Praemio R Titanium + DA9150 + Enve 3.4 CK hubs

shuttlenote
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 7:17 am

by shuttlenote

No issues as well.

I don't use the speed sensor either, just rely on Garmin headunit.

mattr
Posts: 3686
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 6:43 pm
Location: The Grim North.

by mattr

I "lost" mine.

Except I didn't, they've been strapped to my training bike (black hubs, black crank) and just doing their thing ever since i got them. So about a year.

Bogan
Posts: 261
Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2014 11:47 pm
Location: Boganville, Australia

by Bogan

No issues whatsoever. I have the speed and cadence sensors.
MAMIL? Never. O.F.I.L. yeh! (Old F**ker in Lycra)

sib
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:03 am

by sib

I have two genuine Garmin speed sensors and a cheap Chinese copy - all three work flawlessly.

mdeth1313
Moderator
Posts: 2153
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2006 12:38 am
Location: Dutchess County, NY

by mdeth1313

Thanks for the feedback. I need the speed sensor as I tend to have long sections of riding under cover of trees, which is fantastic on hot days, but you watch your speed drop 2-5 mph because of the interference. I've had this w/ the original garmin edge 305, then the 500, and now with the 800.
Speedplay is the devil!

User avatar
Calnago
Posts: 6466
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:14 pm

by Calnago

I tried the magnetless Garmin sensors for awhile. Then took them off. Didn’t like the ugly brick on my hub. But it also seemed to take a while to “connect”. The magnet based sensors are immediate and reliable. Since they don’t make the GSC-10 anymore I’m using the Wahoo sensor... it’s small and easy to fit, and looks good I think.
I don’t like using gps only based speed as, like you point out, it’s easy to lose the signal in canopied wooded areas, cities and tunnels. You can always tell when signals are being lost when riding in a group through wooded areas. Beeping all over the place.
Colnago C64 - The Naked Build; Colnago C60 - PR99; Trek Koppenberg - Where Emonda and Domane Meet;
Unlinked Builds (searchable): Colnago C59 - 5 Years Later; Trek Emonda SL Campagnolo SR; Special Colnago EPQ

User avatar
nickf
Posts: 591
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:34 pm

by nickf

I use the speed sensor on my mountain bike. Works great at low speeds and when there is a lot of tree cover. Road bike Its GPS only.

spdntrxi
Posts: 1837
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

ugly but work for me..connects fast
GPS speed for me is garbage and I dont trust it.

User avatar
TonyM
Posts: 2585
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2015 4:11 pm

by TonyM

I tried them and they do work good! But so ugly.....

User avatar
zebragonzo
Posts: 972
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2007 7:35 am

by zebragonzo

I use the cadence sensor on my cross bikes. Works no problems for me. I like the lack a sensor that can twist slightly around the chainstay and start rubbing against the crank/spoke magnets.
Dimples: Laminar flow separates more easily from a surface than turbulent air. Delayed separation reduces drag. A groove perpendicular to the flow triggers laminar to turbulent conversion. A spinning object uses dimples so an edge always faces the flow.

desperado95219
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 08, 2009 7:49 pm

by desperado95219

I have the magnetless sensors on two bikes. The speed sensors work perfectly for me...every bit as well as the old magnet version. The cadence sensor also works fine, but the black band that holds it on the crank arm makes black marks on my white shoes no matter where I mount it on the arm.

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post