Developing a NEW GPS cycling analytics Website. WW help/input needed!

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderators: robbosmans, Moderator Team

aerozy

by aerozy

Hi everybody! It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted here. Hope you are all doing well.

I’m going to try and make this message as short as possible but I guess a small introduction is necessary. Here goes…. So basically I used to be an engineer working in the oil sector that was a total WW n+1 addict. After 10 years I grew a conscience, gave up engineering, moved to the country side (mountains), opened a bed and breakfast with a bike touring component. The bnb went relatively well but not so much the cycling part of things. So with a lot of time on my hands I thought of giving web development a try. Total amateur programmer but why not.

The idea was to make an alternative to strava but more focused on cycling (and climbing). One of my focus points was to use only open source resources, again due to my knew found ethics. I believe in everything open source. Patents are the plague of this world. I avoided using API’s from companies like google, amazon, etc that would have made my life easier but at a cost.