Garmin, Strava problem.

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

Hi Guys,
Just seeing if you can help me out.
I've got a Garmin 520 which is paired to my phone, I've never had a problem until Saturday. I came back from a ride stopped the Garmin pressed save activity as normal, now normally buy the time I walk in doors my phone then says activity uploaded to strava. All good, but not this time and on today's ride. So obviously I'm pissed off not seeing any data, twice now.
So I started and stopped the Garmin and on the fifth go it uploaded to my phone, obviously no data, just 0 miles etc, so it does work just not when I'm finishing my ride.
Has this happened to any of you.? Any thoughts.

Next ride I'll make sure I have strava going on my phone.

P90Puma
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 7:00 pm

by P90Puma

Check garmin connect to see if the activity is there.

Also if you plug in your garmin to your pc the activities are saved on the device as a backup as well and you can upload from there.

by Weenie


KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

For some reason it's not showing on Garmin Connect, so I'll have to plug into the PC.
Will I then be able to share it to Strava. ?
Cheers

brackc
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:07 am

by brackc

In the past I've had trouble with the garmin syncing to the phone app, if you delete the app and re-install it you will re-connect to the garmin servers, which can solve some issues.

KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

Ok I'll try that first.
Cheers

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


joejack951
Posts: 387
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 6:50 pm
Location: Wilmington, DE

by joejack951

Shut down and restart your phone. It should then show up in Garmin Connect after syncing. Then manually upload the activity to Strava (download the .gpx file from Garmin Connect and use the uploader for Strava). Just went through this with my FR35 after months of no issues.

KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

joejack951 wrote:Shut down and restart your phone. It should then show up in Garmin Connect after syncing. Then manually upload the activity to Strava (download the .gpx file from Garmin Connect and use the uploader for Strava). Just went through this with my FR35 after months of no issues.
To manually upload am I right in saying id have to plug my phone into my laptop. Sorry I'm shit at technology.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Frankie - B
Administrator
Posts: 6619
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Drenthe, Holland

by Frankie - B

No, you need to connect your garmin to your laptop and upload the .fit files to strava.
'Tape was made to wrap your GF's gifts, NOT hold a freakin tire on.'

KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

Frankie - B wrote:
Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:47 am
No, you need to connect your garmin to your laptop and upload the .fit files to strava.
Awesome, many thanks for that. !!

KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

I've got the files up on my laptop but how do I transfer them to Strava.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


KCookie
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:40 am
Location: Pom living in Australia

by KCookie

All done guys, thanks alot for your help.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk


User avatar
Frankie - B
Administrator
Posts: 6619
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:17 am
Location: Drenthe, Holland

by Frankie - B

Great job!
'Tape was made to wrap your GF's gifts, NOT hold a freakin tire on.'

by Weenie


Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post