Page 40 of 49

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:33 pm
by AZR3
Bumping this up as Wahoo has up dated the Bolt’s firmware to fix the Assioma avg power and cadence isssues. I just updated my Bolt and will test it out tomorrow

https://support.wahoofitness.com/hc/en- ... re-Updates

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:33 pm
by Weenie

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 1:12 am
by glepore
I gotta add that going on 2 years now, I've never been happier with a piece of bike electronics. If you don't need to view a map real time ( ie you have turn by turn either from rwgps or using the phone routing) this thing is pretty much the shit.

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:35 pm
by kgibbo1868
I will never go back to Garmin.

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:02 am
by MichaelB
kgibbo1868 wrote:
Tue Jun 05, 2018 7:35 pm
I will never go back to Garmin.
Amen to that. The next bike comp will be the new version of the Bolt. Guaranteed.

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:40 am
by robertbb
AZR3 wrote:
Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:33 pm
Bumping this up as Wahoo has up dated the Bolt’s firmware to fix the Assioma avg power and cadence isssues. I just updated my Bolt and will test it out tomorrow

https://support.wahoofitness.com/hc/en- ... re-Updates
Please do keep us informed. I'm on a Garmin 500 (still)... and use Assioma pedals.

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 6:13 pm
by AZR3
Tried out the new firmware for the Bolt and avg power/cadence with the Assioma Duo is all happy now! FINALLY!

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 12:03 am
by kgibbo1868
new color options..... if you like red or yellow :roll:

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:09 am
by tomee
can you program the 9170 top buttons to control the Bolt in anyway?

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:20 pm
by TheDoctor
tomee wrote:
Sat Jun 16, 2018 10:09 am
can you program the 9170 top buttons to control the Bolt in anyway?
Yes, as long as you've got an EW-WU111 wireless unit installed and paired with the Bolt. Button settings can be modified in the Shimano software but the default settings work just fine:
https://support.wahoofitness.com/hc/en- ... EMNT-BOLT-

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 6:20 am
by bilwit
anyone know if there's a way to force this thing to use Bluetooth to pair? My PM only shows up on the head unit & compantion app with ANT+, yet if I use the Stages or Wahoo Utility app it sees it through Bluetooth.. :x

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:32 pm
by glepore
Doesn't appear to be a way. Wahoo claims to prefer ant+ for power meters on their support page. Operating multiple bt devices can be problematic, and the wahoo communicates with the phone via bluetooth.

The app can't read ant+ without a dongle, so it connects via bt.

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:23 pm
by bilwit
glepore wrote:
Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:32 pm
Doesn't appear to be a way. Wahoo claims to prefer ant+ for power meters on their support page. Operating multiple bt devices can be problematic, and the wahoo communicates with the phone via bluetooth.

The app can't read ant+ without a dongle, so it connects via bt.
That sucks. ANT+ is terrible indoors on the trainer, always drops which is a nightmare when you're doing intervals and it just stays at the same power forever... Had to switch to power source to the trainer and effectively not use my PM at all except for cadence on the head unit :x

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:36 pm
by Monkeyfudger
Just get the Wahoo app and use your phone for training indoors?

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:38 pm
by bomber
bilwit wrote:
Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:23 pm
That sucks. ANT+ is terrible indoors on the trainer, always drops which is a nightmare when you're doing intervals and it just stays at the same power forever... Had to switch to power source to the trainer and effectively not use my PM at all except for cadence on the head unit :x
Spend $10 on a USB extension cord and ANT+ dongle. I've never had a single drop out with that setup.

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:38 pm
by Weenie

Re: Wahoo Element Bolt

Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 12:07 am
by glepore
bilwit wrote:
Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:23 pm

That sucks. ANT+ is terrible indoors on the trainer, always drops which is a nightmare when you're doing intervals and it just stays at the same power forever... Had to switch to power source to the trainer and effectively not use my PM at all except for cadence on the head unit :x
I suspect the problem isn't dropouts so much as the two sources "fighting" over trainer control. I've had this issue with 3rd party aps. Shoot wahoo support a message, they're pretty responsive.