Camera Mounts and Assorted 3D Printed Parts

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderators: robbosmans, Moderator Team

User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

@exFictitiouZ
I can make a saddle rail mount for the Cateye that uses 2 zip ties instead of a clamp. I wouldn't be able to tell you the exact weight but I would guess it would be less that 10 grams with the zip ties.

exFictitiouZ
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:20 pm

by exFictitiouZ

Which one do you prefer? A SWAT mount with screws or a saddle rail mount with zip ties?

by Weenie


User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

The SWAT mount is very stable but that comes at a cost, it is both heavier even with Titanium or Aluminum bolts and it is larger so it costs more. Shapeways charges for prints based on several criteria including the physical size and total volume of raw materials used in the print. The rail mount really is a bit less stable as it is totally dependent on how tight you can get the zip ties. It uses considerably less material and takes less space in the printer. Honestly, my guess is that it will only be a few dollars one way or another, and as far as I am concerned it doesn't make any difference to me because I do not charge anyone for designing the part but I retain all ownership of the digital source files in exchange.

Now, with respect to which one I would use. When I was riding a sub 15 lbs. bike I would have not hesitated and gone with a saddle rail mount. Now that my bike is hovering near 16 lbs. it doesn't seem to be that important. All about perspective. I do have a preference with regard to materials, I would almost always choose Multi Jet Fusion PA12 (MJF PA12) if I was buying today. The HP printer produces better prints both in strength and slightly in looks.

exFictitiouZ
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:20 pm

by exFictitiouZ

In that case if you could design one with SWAT mount I'd be your first customer. :)

User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

Cateye mounts for SWAT, I already have three versions,
http://shpws.me/MiY6 Standard SWAT Cateye Mount. Mounts Cateye vertically.
http://shpws.me/Meei SWAT Mount with Cateye rotated 90°. Mounts Cateye horizontally.
http://shpws.me/MhFc SWAT Mount with Cateye rotated 90° and extended 10 mm further rearward. Mounts Cateye horizontally.

exFictitiouZ
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:20 pm

by exFictitiouZ

Yup I've seen all of them. What I'd love to request is to have the light mount horizontally and the light retracted inward by some degree, so that the light is actually under the saddle and not protruding, as illustrated by my initial photo.

User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

@exFictitiouZ

Take a look at this version, https://a360.co/3a3fvjt. Most desktop browsers will allow you to scroll all around the model.

With the above link you can take measurements to make sure it fits. Let me know if you want any of the dimensions adjusted. raw it is approimately 21 mm from the center of the Cateye clip to the bottom of the SWAT section, and it is approximately 7 mm from the front of the Cateye clip to the center of the SWAT mounting holes. That should tuck it neatly under the rear of the saddle. But without you measuring the space required by the Cateye I won't know for sure if it will miss the saddle rails.

exFictitiouZ
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:20 pm

by exFictitiouZ

I've measured my saddle and your design will clear the rails perfectly. One thing I noticed was that the design is not symmetrical. Is this intentionally offset so that the light, when mounted, is centred?

Image

User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

My mistake, I will correct it and upload it to Shapeways on Monday.

Nevermind, it is fixed now, you can get one from here, http://shpws.me/ROMQ

exFictitiouZ
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 2:20 pm

by exFictitiouZ

Paid !

User avatar
Valy
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 11:16 pm

by Valy

Has anyone made an out front mount for a Garmin Fenix 5X Plus?

User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

Garmin makes their own handlebar mount for the Fenix (https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/p/pn/010-11029-00)
Other than that one there is no Out Front mount that I am aware of.

User avatar
Valy
Posts: 248
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 11:16 pm

by Valy

Yeah, they do but a piece of foam that came with the watch as part of the package does a job just as good! :D

I have been putting off designing a mount for my Exposure Joystick, GoPro and the watch for so long. I guess at this stage it depends on what cameras are avaliable in the future. I don't really wanna buy a duplicate light via the Cycliq route, but when it comes to battery life - there are few options for longer than 2 hours it seems. Drift is nice, but just too big.


by Weenie


User avatar
WheresWaldo
Posts: 696
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:52 am
Location: North Carolina

by WheresWaldo

I am not a big fan of Cycliq, it does what it is supposed to but the lack of parts and accessories in certain parts of the world and the fact that they like to routinely change the mount is annoying.

Thanks for your support @CrankAddictsRich, with the Human Malware sweeping the globe cycling is one of the few respites we still can enjoy to it's fullest.

Post Reply