Garmin 800 and speed sensor

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
KOGAN
Posts: 210
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 11:19 am
Location: United Kingdom

by KOGAN

Hi

I am looking to use my Garmin 800 on the home trainer and realized the only way to do this was to use the Garmin GSC 10 speed and cadence sensor.

I have attached this and although my garmin seems to recognize the sensors attached I don't seem to be able to view the speed?

Any help much appreciated!

spdntrxi
Posts: 1469
Joined: Sat Jul 20, 2013 6:11 pm

by spdntrxi

Maybe you have speed set to gps? And not sensor

by Weenie


FIJIGabe
Posts: 1386
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 6:07 pm
Location: The Lone Star State

by FIJIGabe

the only way to correct this is to completely turn off the GPS sensor in the head unit. From my experience, if the GPS reads 0, but the speed sensor is moving, it throws the system off, and just reads 0 speed. Once you have the head unit read speed from only the sensor, then the issue goes away. Just make sure you turn GPS on for your next ride.
Madone 9 https://goo.gl/7UwZpV
Crockett https://goo.gl/f5PdCN
Madone 5 https://goo.gl/cMdyFo

Madone 4, Cobia. I own a lot of Treks.

rijndael
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily

by rijndael

When you watch the LED on the unit, does it blink as the wheel magnet passes the arm?

rijndael
Posts: 395
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 12:54 pm
Location: Haines, AK - Temporarily

by rijndael

spdntrxi wrote:Maybe you have speed set to gps? And not sensor

It's not selectable. If a speed sensor is paired, it prefers that for speed over GPS.

by Weenie


ridonkulus
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 5:12 pm

by ridonkulus

I've had a ton of problems with their speed sensor. First thing is to make sure your wheel magnet is close enough to the sensor but not to close as when fame and wheels flex it will hit it. If that doesn't work then reset the sensor by holding down the button on the sensor for 5 or so seconds. The button should blink alternating green and red and the wheel magnet and cadence sensor go by, this will let you know if they are in range as well.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post