New Garmin Edge 810 and 510

Questions about bike hire abroad and everything light bike related. No off-topic chat please

Moderator: Moderator Team

User avatar
jmilliron
Posts: 2014
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 5:03 pm
Location: San Francisco Peninsula

by jmilliron

Garmin needs to steal talent from Apple, Samsung or something like that. :(
2013 Wilier Cento1 SR || 2009 Ridley Crossbow || 2011 Yeti AS-R 5 Carbon

User avatar
Guerdi
Posts: 393
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 5:27 pm
Location: Switzerland

by Guerdi

bwdftp wrote:What I really want is a sharp readable high resolution screen, slim profile, and lightweight device that has all the features of the 800 series in compact unit that weighs as much as the 500. Sure its an engineering challenge, but in 2013 its totally doable. Hopefully the "900" does something like that, but now that the 810 and 510 are out I would imagine it will be 2015 before Garmin releases another head unit.


TwoNav (Ultra model) makes such a device, but it's weighing more than the 500 (98 g. vs 54 g.). And (for the moment I think) the maps are limited to France.

Image

markyboy
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

Selling my 810 as i am going back to edge 500 :D why did i buy it in the first place.
COLNAGO C60 SUPER RECORD EPS
Pinarello f8 sram etap
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike

User avatar
Tinea Pedis
Posts: 8453
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Location: Geelong
Contact:

by Tinea Pedis

Having that many issues?

I'm not game to sell my 800 just yet.

markyboy
Posts: 648
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 10:22 pm
Location: Bristol uk

by markyboy

A few issues,i just dont find it much better than the 500 apart from the maps.
COLNAGO C60 SUPER RECORD EPS
Pinarello f8 sram etap
Eddy merckx 69 ultegra disc winter bike

User avatar
Tinea Pedis
Posts: 8453
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Location: Geelong
Contact:

by Tinea Pedis

Three rides, three enormous power spikes.

I'm less than impressed...

uraqt
Posts: 816
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 8:53 am

by uraqt

I agree that they need better screens, but it's all about battery life. I would guess that the next better resolution might cost an hour or two.

I think the right approach would be two models hi res screen and racer epaper version, epaper better with batter and readable in sunlight

C

weekapaugin
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:18 pm
Location: phoenix, az

by weekapaugin

anyone have any reports on the 510? I'm still using the old 305, and wanting to upgrade to support a future power meter and get a few more bells and whistles. I've read the full review on dc, but looking to see if anyone has some 'long term' or feedback from a different perspective.

User avatar
Getter
Posts: 877
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 6:30 am
Location: So Cal

by Getter

Coming from a 500...only gripe is the display. Size to me don't really matter.

So far I haven't come across any software issues...yet.

User avatar
mvacolnago
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 12:29 am

by mvacolnago

Garmin released an updated version 2.4, now allowing TCX files again
Last edited by mvacolnago on Tue Apr 09, 2013 9:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Tinea Pedis
Posts: 8453
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Location: Geelong
Contact:

by Tinea Pedis

Changes made from version 2.30 to 2.40:

Improved power data recording.
Added support for TCX courses.
Added support for heart rate graph data field.
Added Training Plans support.
Improved elevation recording.
Improved elevation page visibility.
Fixed 30 second vertical speed average data field.
Fixed issue with phone connections.
Improved compass page.
Updated power zone defaults and added functionality to reset to default values.
Restricted a software update from taking place if the battery is below 10% capacity.
Added press and hold shortcuts to bike and activity profiles from the home screen.
Added weather icon to Connections page.
Updated translations.


Best part, copied my 'settings.fit' file as instructed. Updated and tried to turn 810 on (after copying .fit file over, again all as instructed) and Garmin gets to start screen and shuts itself down.

They may have the GPS market cornered, but using us as their Beta testers is absolutely driving me insane.

I'm sorry Garmin, but this is very poor form.

djm
Posts: 1403
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: Norway

by djm

Meanwhile I had to return my 800 for the second warranty case in two years. Seems the unit lasts less than a season (20 000 km per season) before something breaks. This time the 800 was taking in humidity (sweat) through the display it appears. USB port dry, unit still takes in humidity and the touch screen is malfunctioning as a result. Fair enough that they "stand behind" their product by usually offering a new one upon warranty, but this is the fourth time I warranty one of my Garmins, and only the postage for the return of the units could have gotten me a Bryton or some other unit.

...add to it that the slope is set to an insane value every time I calibrate my SRM manually AND every time the Garmin does it on its own (a feature which cannot be switched off)

Does the 810 and 510 also automatically set the zero offset value with SRMs?

The 800 and 500 tends to set this offset to an invalid/incorrect value quite frequently.

User avatar
Tinea Pedis
Posts: 8453
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 6:08 am
Location: Geelong
Contact:

by Tinea Pedis

I never had an issue with my 800 varying SRM offset.

drmutley
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Feb 11, 2011 4:23 am

by drmutley

kervelo wrote:
Tillquist wrote:
markyboy wrote:Does anyone have the new edge 510 or 810 yet?
I am still waiting for mine :(


Yes I got my Edge 810 Wednesday morning in the mail. I'm really happy, and especially for auto upload works super well.


Any comments on the live tracking feature: how fast does it eat the iphone battery during the rides etc.?



I used live tracking on a 1:20hr ride and it used 50% of the 510 battery... HR and power meter also in use...connected via BT to an iPhone 5. Used 10% of the iPhone battery...

djm
Posts: 1403
Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 12:19 pm
Location: Norway

by djm

TP: Will try with the new unit they sent me. I presume the old one was malfunctioning. Just haven't gotten to moving the SRM to the racebike. Too damn busy days.

Post Reply
  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post