Decent wheels for commuting and winter training (UK)

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

parajba

by parajba

As per title, I am using using a pair of Fulcrum Racing 5 but I find them so stiff and uncomfortable.
I am 68kg for 178cm. The bike is a Cervelo R3 (2009) with 23mm Conti 4Season at 100PSI.
I checked on Strada and WheelSmith but I thought I would ask here as well.
I might put 25mm perhaps in the near future but I need to work out the mud guards first (with my current 23mm I am able to use the Crud Roadracer, with 25mm I will have to look into a different solution like the Portland’s for example).

PS: i put some 15000km per year on these wheels.

Thanks all!

Edit: I saw a number of similar threads but decided to create a new one because I would still like to understand how an R3 can be so uncomfortable. I have been riding this bike since 2009 and went through a number of training wheels (Shimano RS20, Malik Aksium, previous gen Racing 5, current gen Racing 5 LG) and find it very uncomfortable. Don’t remember when it started feeling so stiff, but this bike used to ride like a sofa in terms of comfort. Can it be that the Fulcrum are tensioned for heavy riders and don’t work with me? Budget £300-400. Comfort is key, not too heavy would be a plus but not at the expense of durability and low maintenance. I toss the Fulcrums after 45k (3 years) and don’t have to look back.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

benhama

by benhama

Try a set of wheels from Just Riding Along (https://www.justridingalong.com/). Great wheels at a great price point.

Rudi

by Rudi

I've got the "Vivaldi" option from DCR, with Schwalbe pro one tubeless 25mm.

https://dcrwheels.co.uk/road-wheelsets/