Garmin hub speed sensor aerodynamics

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

athletic91

by athletic91

tried google but nothing much came out

imagine spending thousands of dollars on the most aero wheelset only to have the garmin speed sensor wrap around the wheel hub costing a few precious watts...

or am i thinking too much

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

Attermann

by Attermann

Just use the gps function

AJS914

by AJS914

You mean the speed sensor that wraps around the hub? I doubt that would make any difference. It's not like you are increasing your frontal area at all.

Butcher
Shop Owner

by Butcher

I'm no engineer but I suspect it would be close to nothing. The air going thru the spokes would have so much turbulance that it would not cause much drag.

I hate anything hanging on a bike and if I could get rid of any component, I would. That is why I use GPS also.

kode54

by kode54

I use GPS even though its not as accurate. I haven't found a speed sensor that is well designed...most are ugly afterthoughts.
- Factor Ostro VAM Disc
- Factor LS Disc
- Specialized Aethos Disc
- Sturdy Ti Allroad Disc
- Guru Praemio R Disc

Swannie

by Swannie

I read once that it causes drag if its on front hub, therefore best put it on rear hub.
Whith or without is a huge difference in AVG, especially on mtb.

Calnago
In Memoriam

by Calnago

Butcher wrote:I'm no engineer but I suspect it would be close to nothing.
What?!! “Close to nothing”, isn’t nothing, and in aero speak that means it counts. Manufacturers are claiming their hubs are more aero etc so strapping a brick onto the center has got to negate whatever aeroness they’ve designed in by oh, about 100%. I kid of course, but you know there’s someone out there saying exactly that.
But it’s ugly af. I much prefer magnet based sensors.