Shallow Alloy Wheels

Everything about building wheels, glueing tubs, etc.
exctasy

by exctasy

I'm currently on a lookout to upgrade the wife's first road bike's heavy stock giant wheels to something a little lighter, nicer and with better rolling.
Was actually thinking of custom HED belgium and white industries hub.
However the past days I've discovered Dt-Swiss PR1400 oxic tubeless wheels which look damn good and lesser $$
They come in the following config
21mm @ approx 1450g
32mm @ approx 1633g
difference of approx 183g

However I just can't decide which depth to get :noidea:
Is it worth paying more for that tiny difference in depth? Any thoughts guys?

I've no experience in shallow wheels :lol:

Multebear

by Multebear

First of all, i’m pretty sure the DT’s dont come with DT’s top end hubs. The other wheelset you mention with WI T11 hubs do. WI make some of the finest and most durable hubs on the market.

Second, if you want a deeper section alloy rim, you might as well choose one of the aero ones and get the build done custom, just like the hed belgiums are custom build. Lots of other options than Hed Belgium. It all depends on how aero you want to go and how deep your pockets are. If you want deep section Kinlin XR31T are the bang for Buck rims. Get them laced to some nice hubs like WI T11, Shimano Dura Ace or DT’s 240s. More expensive rims are AForce AL33.

If you don’t want to go deep section just pick one of the less expensive options like DT R460, or some of the many Kinlin offerings.

If you decide on custom wheels, then you might want to talk to a wheelbuilder in you area.

IMO there’s no need to build some expensive aero alloy wheels, if you haven’t got any carbon wheels for you wife to use.

by Weenie

Svetty

by Svetty