In search of a 20h rear hub

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

themidge

by themidge

Hello everyone, hope you're having a wheely good day :P .
My Mavic aksium rear hub gave up the ghost recently and while I do have wheels to ride (DA c24's no less, borrowed from a friend who doesn't use them), I'd quite like to rebuild the rear rim with a new hub and spokes. I've never built a wheel before but I'd love to try it.
However, the Mavics have just 20 spokes at the back (and the front) and I can't seem to find a 20h rear hub anywhere that isn't Chris King or something expensive like that.
It doesn't need to be light (these are aksiums after all), but it needs to be not shit, and cheap (<£100). Suggestions?

Its not the end of the world if I can't do it (is it even OK to rebuild with so few spokes?) and I can still use the front for something, but these have been good training wheels, and it'd be a shame to not be able to use them.

by Weenie

Visit starbike.com Online Retailer for HighEnd cycling components
Great Prices ✓    Broad Selection ✓    Worldwide Delivery ✓

www.starbike.com

jch3n

by jch3n

Are you sure the rim can even take standard nipples and spokes? Mavic tends to use a lot of proprietary stuff. Honestly, I think you're better off just buying a new Aksium rear wheel, which seems to be around $130 USD. You'll probably be spending close to, or more than, that on a hub, spokes, and nipples.

alcatraz

by alcatraz

Take a spoke out and measure at the head with calipers. If the spokes are bladed you also need to measue the width of the widest point to see if you need special spoke holes. Give the specs to several hub seller that specialize in different brands. Bitex/chosen/dt/novatec.