Please recommend me a tub!

Back by popular demand, the general all-things Road forum!

Moderator: robbosmans

TurboTommy

by TurboTommy

Hi there

I’ve been using tubulars for the last 4 years now and I
love them for lots of reasons. But I’m sure I’m not getting the best out of them. I’ve only ever used conti’s... I’ve had gatorskins, competition and competition attack. I like them just fine. I live in London and do most of my riding either in London or the surrounding counties, so not always the best roads... And I’ve had very few punctures the last few years. To be honest up until now durability has been one of my top criteria for tire choice.

But this year I’m getting a new set of rims with a view to taking them to the Pyrenees this summer. And I feel like it’s about time I got a set of tubs that offered the full experience of tubular if that makes sense... so I’d be grateful if you guys can recommend me a tub with that in mind.

Geoff

by Geoff

Durability and quality are certainly not mutually exclusive in tubular tires. I have had very good luck with 'hand-made' tubulars, too.

Like all tires, the results that you will see will vary dramatically with your locale and your riding style. Even where we are, we have very rough roads (as a result of the frost heave that we experience and the gravel that is layed-down in an attempt to provide traction on ice and snow), I will regularly wear-out tubulars before flatting them. If you do not have sharp stuff (glass, thorns, etc.), tubulars are very durable and resist pinch-flats very well.