Page 1 of 1

Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:50 pm
by alistaird
All,

I've seen converters to allow Campagnolo spacing on a Shimano spline for 10 speed but I want to go the other way. I have a wheel with a Campagnolo 9/10/11 speed freehub (that is no longer made) and I want to run it now on a bike with 9 speed Dura Ace. Is there any way of doing this?

Thanks

A

Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:50 pm
by Weenie

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:06 pm
by vejnemojnen
buy a veloce cassette, replace the spacers with something around 2.6 mm thick. This way you'll get 4.35mm spacing, only the first cog will be 4.55mm further apart, but does not count, it'll just work fine.

by the way, I've recently re-spaced a 9speed cogset with 2.2mm thick spacers to shimano 10speed.

I've had a spare 10speed starter cog at my disposal and an additional last cog from a former cassette of mine. Now it's spaced 3.95mm all the way, save the first cog.

works like a charm. :thumbup:

Image

veloce 9speed cassette, with the 1st position replaced and 1 added at the top with 2.2mm spacers-->10 speed shimano block 13-25

you can do this for 9speed spacing too, with 2.6mm thick spacers. I got the 1st and last cog given by the lbs for free (they had it from an older replaced cassette)

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:32 pm
by alistaird
vejnemojnen wrote:buy a veloce cassette, replace the spacers with something around 2.6 mm thick. This way you'll get 4.35mm spacing, only the first cog will be 4.55mm further apart, but does not count, it'll just work fine.

by the way, I've recently re-spaced a 9speed cogset with 2.2mm thick spacers to shimano 10speed.

I've had a spare 10speed starter cog at my disposal and an additional last cog from a former cassette of mine. Now it's spaced 3.95mm all the way, save the first cog.

works like a charm.

Image

veloce 9speed cassette, with the 1st position replaced and 1 added at the top with 2.2mm spacers-->10 speed shimano block 13-25

you can do this for 9speed spacing too, with 2.6mm thick spacers. I got the 1st and last cog given by the lbs for free (they had it from an older replaced cassette)
Wow I love this forum for the wealth of technical information...

I might even have a 9 speed Veloce cassette somewhere...

Thanks

A

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:25 pm
by vejnemojnen
semmi

if you are not able to get 2.6mm spacers, you can also use 2.5mm bottom bracket spacers, those going to work as well.

internal diametre 35mm, thickness 2.5mm

it'll rresult in 4.25mm spacing, but a little overshift is very well tolerated generally.

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:38 pm
by alistaird
vejnemojnen wrote:semmi

if you are not able to get 2.6mm spacers, you can also use 2.5mm bottom bracket spacers, those going to work as well.

internal diametre 35mm, thickness 2.5mm

it'll rresult in 4.25mm spacing, but a little overshift is very well tolerated generally.
And that will save me some money... Just found a pack of 10 for £2.50 instead of about £3 each for 2.6mm....

Thanks

A

Sent from my SGP312 using Tapatalk

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:03 am
by vejnemojnen
could you please pm me with the link to the spacers?

cheers

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:03 am
by Weenie

Re: Shimano Spacing on Campagnolo Spline (9 speed)

Posted: Sat Oct 14, 2017 1:30 pm
by alistaird
vejnemojnen wrote:could you please pm me with the link to the spacers?

cheers
Sent the details to you.

Sent from my E6853 using Tapatalk